Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Alternative to Karen's Replicator

    Hello, I've been a long time user of Karen's Replicator but recently I've had some problems with version 3.6.4 It sometimes fails to complete copying jobs and the global exclusions list hasn't worked for me. Does anyone know of a good alternative program? Should or could I be using Acronis True Image 9.0 instead? Being able to set up different jobs and run them via windows shortcuts or command prompt is a must.

    Thanks,

    Chris (Hunt)

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: Alternative to Karen's Replicator

    Have you tried contacting Karen?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Alternative to Karen's Replicator

    Yes, but it's too early to know whether she will reply. But I'm now wondering if the problems could be related to running as a limited user.

    Chris

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: Alternative to Karen's Replicator

    I guess it is possible. Have you checked to make sure that the user account has proper access riights to everything needed to run the job?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Alternative to Karen's Replicator

    I use ROBOCOPY exclusively in my BATch files, using the server's local Administrator account for scheduled tasks...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Alternative to Karen's Replicator

    Hi, I tried using robocopy but couldn't get it to work at all. For example, what is wrong with this command:

    robocopy j: mrive J /mir

    Thanks,

    Chris (Hunt)

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Alternative to Karen's Replicator

    Put a space between the "switch" slashes?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Alternative to Karen's Replicator

    Hi Bob,

    What do you mean? Where am I missing a space?

    Thanks,

    Chris

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    816
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Alternative to Karen's Replicator

    Chris,
    It is a space issue, just not the on Bob mentioned .You need to surround the directory with the space. I think you'll also need to remove the backslash after the mrive J

    Try this version
    robocopy j: "mrive J" /mir

  10. #10
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Alternative to Karen's Replicator

    Mike's right!

    I almost make it a habit to put double-quotes round every path specification, "whether it needs it or not". This new-fangled relaxation of allowing blanks in directory and file names always bites you in the ankles (say!) when your BATch file suddenly has to cope with blanks in path names where there were no blanks before... O for the days when you simply had paths like c:windowssystem32driversetchosts ...!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Alternative to Karen's Replicator

    Thanks to you both for pointing out the lack of double quotes. I tried with and without but kept getting errors. I've given up on robocopy and returned to Karens Replicator. There was some problem as I could not open the txt files used to store settings for the limited user account. I solved this by copying the settings across from the admin account and overwriting the limited user files. I'm now able to open the txt files and the settings show up properly from within Replicator used with my limited account. I think Karen's Replicator may have issues when used with a limited user account but I'm not going to do any definitive tests to find out. Things seem to be working properly. I'll be monitoring the situation. Regarding double quotes I always used to use them until I started working with AutoHotKey which seems to do much better without them.

    Best wishes,

    Chris

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •