Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wheaton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    All my browsers, plus my Google DESKBAR (**not toolbar**), get a standard TimeOut error message when I try to call up Google. Oddly enough, Google Images (CTRL-I) works for the Deskbar.

    I use PC Tools Firewall Plus. Is it possible Google is blocked? It doesn't seem so from the list of blocked sites, but I'm no expert. Please help.

  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    What happens if you type the IP address 74.125.77.99 for Google.com into your browser instead of the actual address? And if you start a command prompt window and type ping www.google.com, what happens? Does it say it's pinging the same IP address that I just quoted?

    Ian

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wheaton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    With the IP number, I get Google's home page interface, but when I enter a search term, it brings up the Server Timeout/Network Error (Page could not load) standard message.
    With ping, it gives me this message:
    'PING' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    Although when I tried PING, a firewall notice prompted me to allow/disallow...cant' recall the language for sure...something from injecting into the memory of the registry...? I did a screen shot but copied other things later & lost my screen cap. I told the prompt YES allow.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    I'm not sure what antivirus you run, but there is some malware that targets popular web sites. I don't know whether it affects IE, but it does affect Firefox. This article has more information: Firefox never finishes loading certain web sites.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wheaton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    I use AntiVir Personal Edition Classic.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wheaton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    MORE HELP please!!

    I have restarted my Network Adapter. I have done an online Kaspersky scan of my Critical Areas (a full scan, I've discovered, will take at least overnight). Nothing solves the problem.
    I'm really a constant Google user. The deskbar is one of the finest utility applets ever.

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    So if you get the Google home page by entering the IP address, I wonder whether somehow your computer is looking for the wrong address when you actually type www.google.com? Is there any entry in your hosts file relating to google?

    Ian

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wheaton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    First, I generally would not type google.com. I have a google deskbar where I just type the search term. However, that address, when typed, yields a Tiime Out message just like manual browser input.

    Not sure how to check a host file, where it is, or what I would look for.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wheaton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    Getting to google's home page is only part of the problem. Of course the point of "googling" is to get results for a search term. This is what I need, and what didn't happen even when I got to the google interface.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    I'm so lazy today... the answer is here: Hosts file @ Wikipedia.

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    I hope Jefferson's link in <post:=745,361>post 745,361</post:> to Wikipedia helps you understand what the hosts file does. Locate it, open it and see whether there is any reference in it to Google. If so, that might be redirecting you away from the right IP address. And you'd have to wonder what had put the reference there.

    Ian

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wheaton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    no mention of google in any of the files that are with the hosts file.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    I'm not sure what you mean by "any of the files that are with the hosts file." Were you able to open the hosts file itself?

    What happens if you temporarily disable your firewall?

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wheaton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    There is no reference to Google in the Hosts file.

    Disabling my firewall makes no difference.

    By the way, the "page loading" process (usually the browser logo is animated and the word "loading" comes up) goes on for about 30 seconds and then the Page Load Error appears.

  15. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wheaton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Google blocked? (Firefox, Opera, MSIE, Flock (current versions))

    Who can help me with this? Can anyone refer me to an expert who can troubleshoot this with me? Unfortunately I cannot log into Google forums. Although if anyone has a URL for one, I can try from work.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •