Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    270
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    I have a home built PC with an intel motherboard and a removable sata hard drive enclosure. The removable sata drive is the boot drive. This PC is only 4 months old. XP SP3 is operating fine. My boss wants me to learn Vista. After some research, I decided against the dual boot alternative and instead bought another sata enclosure and sata hard drive. I then performed a clean install of Vista. While I have not activated Vista yet, I did install all of the patches, etc. After some further exploring of Vista, I turned off the PC and removed the sata drive with Vista installed and re-installed my XP sata hard drive as I had some "real" work to do.

    When I powered-up the PC using the xp sata drive, I now get a windows boot manager screen with the following error message:

    Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause...Then it shows: File:windowssystem32winload.exe; Status: 0xc000000e; Information: The selected entry could not be loaded because the application is missing or corrupt. After I press enter at this screen, the next screen starts out: Choose an operating system to start, or press tab to select a tool...the only operating system shown is Miscrosoft Windows Vista.

    I know the XP version was fully functional prior to my removing it and replacing the sata drive to install vista. I even had an acronis back-up of XP...when I recover it, I still get the same error message. When I remove the xp sata enclosure and replace it with the vista sata enclosure..the pc boots fine. The whole reason I went with two separate drives was to avoid the issues with a dual boot xp / vista system.

    Somehow my installation of vista impacted xp--but the xp hard drive was not in the pc when I installed vista....I am at a total loss on how to get xp to boot again. Hopefully, someone brighter than me [this one is pretty easy ] can help me...thanks

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    Im sorry I cant help on this but I will be watching your thread with interest as I was thinking of doing EXACTLY the same thing TO AVOID any issues between the two operating systems. You have my sympathies but you've come to right place because someone here will have the answer thats for sure.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    There were many hits when I Googled your error code and most were in regard to a Vista installation giving this error and not XP. But I found the following on Experts Exchange and it sounded like it might be a plausable solution or workaround to your problem. I cannot link directly to the page on Experts Exchange, but the link to the page is at the bottom of this Google search page.

    "2 Sata drives, Primary XP Secondary Vista. After installing the drive , I opened up XP and attempted to initialize the new drive in order to prepare it for Vista. On this Optiplex machine the secondary drive did not appear, I then followed regular troubleshooting steps and confirmed drive 1 was enabled in the BIOS. IT was not. Once enabled I loaded XP again, Initialized the drive with no problem and rebooted to install Vista. Once vista was installed the desktop started in vista with no problems. I then realized that on my original machine, I disregarded this step because the drive appeared immediately in XP when I installed it. I then checked my original desktop and found that drive 1 was also disabled. Once I enabled the disk in the bois , I was able to dual boot into vista. I do not know why I was able to see the drive in XP without the Bios enabled but the vista partition that was able to install a full verion of vista could not boot up into vista until it was enabled."
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    270
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    After reading the material you referenced, I opened the case and disconnect the power to the 2nd permanetly installed sata hard drive. This hard drive is used strictly for storage and was in the PC when I installed Vista on the removable sata enclosure hard drive. When I disconnect the power to the 2nd hard, XP boots properly. I then switched boot hard drive enclosures and Vista too boots properly.

    So I then re-connected the power to the 2nd storage sata hard drive. Vista continues to boot properly and it does recognize the 2nd storage drive and all of its folders and files. But I am back to the same result with the xp sata drive...Same message as before. Seems like the Vista installation must change something related to the second sata drive during its installation. I suppose I could copy the data from the 2nd sata drive to a USB drive and then re-format the 2nd sata drive....but I would like to do this only as a last resort. Assuming I can't find anyting wrong in the Bios.....

    My next step is to confirm that my Bios is current and start poking around in the Bios settings---though I did not change anything prior to installing Vista {I have not been in the Bios for months}. Does anyone know if the installation of Vista can change settings in the Bios? Or does Vista change the MBR of hard drives already active in the PC during its installation? I am leaning toward this answer but I cannot find any information on the web that supports that Vista's installation somehow changes the MBR of other hard drive[s] already active [i.e. formatted, etc]. I am truly puzzled and more so frustrated. THANKS.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    The MBR or Master Boot Record is found on the primary partiton/drive C: used for booting. There is no MBR on a non-booting slave drive. So Vista installed on a seperate, removable drive would not change that in any way. This is a very strange situation. I too am puzzled. My first instinct would be to slave the storage drive directly to the XP driv and copy the data over, but I am not familiar with SATA drives or technology and don't know if this can be done and do not want to recommend anything I'm not sure of. I'll poke around and see if I can come up with something.

    You might take a look at this Segate page on SATA drives to see if it offers an insight.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    270
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    Doc,
    Thanks for the mbr clarification.

    I decided to boot the PC without either the XP sata enclosure or the Vista sata enclosure in the pc. I was expecting to get a message that the PC did not have any bootable media. I did not get this message....the message I get is same message is in my first post. Again, this happens without either boot drive enclosure in the PC.

    So I again decided to unplug the power to the 2nd sata drive. Without 2nd sata drive powered and no bootable sata enclosure installed---I do get the message that there is no bootable media in the PC. So something is installed on the 2nd sata drive from the vista installation...I just don't know what or how to fix it. THANKS.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    Do a search on the 2nd drive for files created on the date of the Vista installation. That will tell you if Vista put anything on the drive.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    270
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    Doc,
    This is a negative...no files on the 2nd drive with same date as the Vista installation.

    I still cannot figure out where the error message is stored....again, it would seem that it is on the 2nd permanent hard drive. I am thinking about buying another SATA drive to replace the current permanently mounted drive in the case...then see if I can get XP to boot and use this new drive. I would then copy the files from the current permanent hard drive to the new one [there are two other available sata connections on the motherboard]. If XP still won't boot once I reconnect the current permanent hard drive to copy to the new one, I'll remove it from the case and mount it into a USB enclosure case and hope to copy the material back to the new hard drive using the usb enclosure approach. I can not afford to lose this material, so I would rather spend some $$'s and know that I have the original hard drive in tact versus copy the files to the boot drive and delete the files from the permanently mounted hard drive.

    I will be out of town for work this week...so it will be next weekend before I have an opportunity to post back. If you think of anything else, please let me know.. thanks Doc for your help. Take care.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    I don't believe that it is anything Vista did, but I've learned over the years that almost anything is possible with these infernal machines. <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15> As I said earlier this is a very strange situation and I'm going to ask someone a bit more hardware savy than I to take a look at this thread. Meantime, I'll keep my eye out for anything that seems relevant.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    Have you moved any of the "special" system folder such as Documents/My Documents to your data drive? Is System Restore enabled on the data drive?

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    270
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    Joe,
    I have not moved any system folders / files, etc. I let Vista use its default settings for the installation. I had to check my XP install notes and yes, system restore is active [i.e. should be---see next paragraph] on the data drive.

    I am so new to Vista, I can't seem to find the system restore information [i.e. I can only get XP to boot when I disconnect the power to the permanent hard drive---so it is not available to xp when I go into system restore]. If you direct me to the right place in Vista, should I turn system restore off for this drive? Could this cause a conflict when I swap out the removable drives and boot to either xp or Vista? Thanks.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    See Disable System Restore in Windows Vista :: the How-To Geek for instructions on disabling system restore in Vista. I'd try disabling System Restore on the data disk drive.

    System Restore that automatically backs up registry and system files whenever you install new software or drivers. So, there is no good reason to have System Restore monitor a drive that is used solely for data.

    You might also read the post by R. C. White at Can't dual boot back to xp need help - Vista Forums to see if it helps.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    270
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    Joe,
    I decided to remove the data hard drive from my pc. I took it to work and installed it on my work PC [xp sp3]. My work pc boots fine and finds the newly installed hard drive...all my files seem in tact. I opened several EXCEL files and they open fine too. When I went to diskmgmt.dsc, I noticed that the data hard drive is listed Healthy-Active. While I could be wrong, I am nearly sure that when I installed this hard drive a year or so ago, that I did not make the parition active.

    Could Vista have done this? Could this be the reason why my home PC will not boot, as it "thinks" the active boot partition is on the data drive? Again, I could be wrong, but I do not recall this hard drive with active partition previously. Is there any way to "de-active" the partition without losing all of my data?

    When I ran the file search like Doc mentioned earlier on the data drive using Vista on my home PC, it didn't show any files...Now that I am at work, when I search for files created on the data hard drive on the date I installed Vista, it finds a file named bootsect.bak.... I also have a bootmgr [system file]---but this was install in Jan 2008....that is around the time I purchased and installed the hard drive on my home PC. Is it safe to erase the Bootsect.bak or will this cause Vista to no longer boot when I re-install the drive tonight on my home pc when I get home from work? THANKS.

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    270
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    Joe, Doc,
    Any advice on the active partition causing the issue and whether I can safely delete the bootsect.bak file? THANKS.

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    270
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP to Vista to XP (XPsp3 / Vista sp1)

    {bump topic}
    Joe, Doc,anyone else,
    Any advice on the active partition causing the issue and whether I can safely delete the bootsect.bak file on the second "data" hard drive? THANKS.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •