Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    SQL Configure Report Server error (Access 2003 SP3)

    I get the following error when i run the xxxxxxxxxx for the Report Server Virtual Directory settings.
    I chose the new button and it required 2 fields to be input (defaults are shown):
    Web Site: Default Web site
    Virtual Directory: ReportServer

    I chose ok which brings up the error, this message signals that the name has already been used.

    How can i signal i want the defaults to be used, or better still the tell it that the name is really not in use?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brookings, South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SQL Configure Report Server error (Access 2003 SP3)

    Hi Pat,
    I believe it is because that virtual directory is already being used in IIS. If you open Internet Information Services, then open the tree of your Default Web Site I think you'll find ReportServer already there. Delete it and then try and configure Reporting Services again. Also, you'll most likely find the Report Manager already has a virtual directory as well (default of Reports), so you might as well delete it too.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/gdrezek_sig.jpg>
    "Those who dance are considered insane by those who can't hear the music" - George Carlin

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: SQL Configure Report Server error (Access 2003 SP3)

    Thanks Gary, that seemed to work ok, however when configuring it bombed on database setup.

    After trying a few things i changed the database name to ReportServerDB from ReportServer, this seemed to work.

    When i tried localhost/reports in IE6 it comes up with an error:

    The XML page cannot be displayed
    Cannot view XML input using XSL style sheet
    A name was started with an invalid character. Error processing resource 'http://localhost/reports/'. Line 1, Position 2

    If i try it in FF3 i get:

    XML Parsing Error: not well-formed
    Location: http://localhost/reports/
    Line Number 1, Column 2:

    This is totally uncharted waters for me here.

    Any ideas?

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brookings, South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SQL Configure Report Server error (Access 2003 SP3)

    HI Pat,
    A reasonable guess in looking at other forums it sounds like you have conflicting versions of ASP.NET. Since you are using SQL 2005, ensure your websites for Reports and ReportServer both have ASP.NET verison 2.0 selected. Open Internet Information Services, expand <Web Sites><Default Web Site>, right click on the website, go to properties and under the ASP.NET tab ensure that your version is 2.0.50727 and not 1.1.4322. <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/gdrezek_sig.jpg>
    "Those who dance are considered insane by those who can't hear the music" - George Carlin

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: SQL Configure Report Server error (Access 2003 SP3)

    Thanks Gary,
    When you say right click on the web site, do you mean the MyASP under Default Web Site? I tried that and found ASP.NET had a version of 2.0.50727.
    I also right clicked on Web Sites and it was the same there too.

    At one stage i was trying to uninstall Framework 2 but it wouldn't allow it. I also have framework 3 and 3.5 installed.

    Is it worth uninstalling Fremework 2 (if i can of course) and reinstalling it?

    I also noticed that the versions above had a dropdown box which showed blank but there was the appropriate number in the dropdown, so i chose that to show it in the box. I now get the following error.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brookings, South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SQL Configure Report Server error (Access 2003 SP3)

    Hi Pat,
    After looking at a number of articles and blogs (and actually a few of my notes) try this:

    Copy and paste this into the Run Command from the Start Menu.
    C:WindowsMicrosoft.NETFrameworkv2.0.50727aspnet_re giis.exe -i

    I have had this happen to me, but quite a while ago. This error will happen when you have installed IIS after installing asp.net.

    But, if that doesn't work, look at this MSKB article. KB267904 It deals with modifying metabase permissions and provides a tool.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/gdrezek_sig.jpg>
    "Those who dance are considered insane by those who can't hear the music" - George Carlin

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: SQL Configure Report Server error (Access 2003 SP3)

    The cut and paste did not work, i will check that link and get back to you.

    Is Framewok 2 ASP.NET? I have Framework 2 SP 1, is there a later one i could try and if so how do i uninstall it first?

    Thanks for taking the time to help me Gary.

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: SQL Configure Report Server error (Access 2003 SP3)

    Hi Gary, have been at work and haven't had the time to do anything.
    I tried that RUN command again and now get the following error:
    The report server is not responding. Verify that the report server is running and can be accessed from this computer.
    Home

    Does this mean i have to start Report server first? I started Report server config.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brookings, South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SQL Configure Report Server error (Access 2003 SP3)

    Hi Pat,
    I apologize, I've been at the busy state as well and haven't been able to make the time to answer your previous reply.
    If you open the SQL Server Configuration Manager (<Start><All Programs><SQL Server 2005><Configuration Tools>) under SQL Server 2005 Services are SQL Server Reporting Services listed as "Running"? If not right click and select Start. Also, since that Run command is an IIS command, check and see if your Default Web Site is running. If it isn't you will see (Stopped) beside it, so right click it and select Start.

    As a last resort
    If all this, including the previous suggestions, haven't worked, I'm tempted to suggest to uninstall it all and try, try again and start from as close to scratch as you possibly can. I've had to do that as well until I've gotten the proper precedure down. Rather than chase down permissions errors, etc. I just blow everything away. I remove everything related to SQL Server through Add or Remove Programs and delete it's folders (C:Program FilesMicrosoft SQL Server) which will also delete the 2 Reporting Services databases, then delete the 2 Reporting Services' virtual directories in IIS and I've even uninstalled IIS and re-installed it. I know this can seem as a rather harse "fix", but when I'm finished and it does work, I am reasonably certain that I've got a clean install and should not have any further problems.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/gdrezek_sig.jpg>
    "Those who dance are considered insane by those who can't hear the music" - George Carlin

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: SQL Configure Report Server error (Access 2003 SP3)

    Hi Gary, no need to apologise as i value yours and others help in this wonderful forum.
    You said:
    Also, since that Run command is an IIS command, check and see if your Default Web Site is running. If it isn't you will see (Stopped) beside it, so right click it and select Start.

    What is the Defauly web site you refer to and how do i see if it is running?

    I cant even start SQL Server anymore, i may have to do what you suggested and give it all the flick and start again.

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brookings, South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SQL Configure Report Server error (Access 2003 SP3)

    Hi Pat,
    Open Internet Information Services Manager through Administrative Tools (there is either a short cut to Administrative Tools via the Start Menu or through the Control Panel). Open the tree on the left until you see Default Web Site. Then if it is stopped you will see (Stopped) and if so, right click on Default Web Site and choose Start. Actually, it might be a good idea to restart IIS. You can do that through the same right click menu or open a Command Prompt and type iisreset.
    This may all be moot if you're unable to restart SQL Server. Can you restart it by opening SQL Configuration Manager? While you're there what condition does it show for Reporting Services?
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/gdrezek_sig.jpg>
    "Those who dance are considered insane by those who can't hear the music" - George Carlin

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: SQL Configure Report Server error (Access 2003 SP3)

    Hi Gary,
    Reporting services shows as running.
    I stopped / started IIS again.

    I may have to reinstall my whole laptop.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •