Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Shut Down Options (for 'Classic' view) (Home Premium_SP1)

    Good Folks...

    Had to get a second machine (& dedicate my first machine to digital audio for the studio)...& this new box came w/ Windows Vista.

    One of the first things I did was to return the Start Menu to Classic view, as it's better suited to my workflow. But when I now go to shut down...& click the Shut Down button...a Vista window pops up w/ a list of options, the default of which is 'Sleep'. I don't mind the extra step of that window coming up...but is there a way to change the default option to 'Shut Down'?, so I can immediately hit OK.

    Thanks,

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Shut Down Options (for 'Classic' view) (Home Premium_SP1)

    We have found NO way of changing the default. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Shut Down Options (for 'Classic' view) (Home Premium_SP1)

    Dave...

    Is there a keyboard shortcut then?

    Thanks,


    MF
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Shut Down Options (for 'Classic' view) (Home Premium_SP1)


    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Shut Down Options (for 'Classic' view) (Home Premium_SP1)

    <hr>When two billion users had for 6 years got used to having the Windows ShutDown default
    to the last option you chose ("Restart" if you chose "Restart" the last time you shut down
    your PC - "Shut Down" if you chose "Shut Down" the last time you shut down your PC -
    "Turn Off" if you chose "Turn Off" the last time round)
    , Microsoft in their "Vista" [lack of]
    wisdom, decided to have Windows Vista always default to Sleep !

    This instantly irritated 2 billion Windows users. In fact, this stupendous irritation is in most
    cases the first thing new Vista users want to change, over and above the much loathed
    User Account Control.<hr>
    Are these guys closet MAC users? <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15> If not, then they must be politician wannabe's given their penchant to hyperbole (euphemism for lying)! <img src=/S/igiveup.gif border=0 alt=igiveup width=31 height=23>

    For what it's worth, I've never had to play with that setting because when I mouseover the right arrow on the Start Menu (Aero), "Shut Down" is one of the options that only needs to be clicked to shut down. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/giggle.gif>
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Shut Down Options (for 'Classic' view) (Home Premium_SP1)

    Jeff,
    "For what it's worth", I can't find any "right arrow" to mouseover in the "Classic View" Start menu. It's exactly as the article illustrates! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Shut Down Options (for 'Classic' view) (Home Premium_SP1)

    John,

    Yes, that's' why I included (Aero) in my reply. I'm sure that the advice given on the page you linked to is fine. I took exception to the highly exaggerated statements and the anti-Microsoft/Vista slurs included in the article. I'm sure the OP will be pleased to find a solution to his problem using the "Classic" Start Menu. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Shut Down Options (for 'Classic' view) (Home Premium_SP1)

    Other options include selecting one of the many Shutdown/Restart/Lock gadgets for the Windows Sidebar (see graphic), or creating a shortcut on your desktop with %windir%System32shutdown.exe -s -t 0 in the target.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Shut Down Options (for 'Classic' view) (Home Premium_SP1)

    Dave (& Paul & everybody, for that matter)...

    The informational from AnswersThatWork did the trick...thanks much,


    MF
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Shut Down Options (for 'Classic' view) (Home Premium_SP1)

    We now have her desk top working with "ShutDown" as the default. Today we will attack her laptop.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •