Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: IE woes (7)

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE woes (7)

    Hello everyone, this is my first post <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20>

    IE won't work on my wireless laptop, but Firefox will, perfectly fine. I've gone through several steps to try to fix it.

    First, I uninstalled and reinstalled IE 7: Nothing changed

    Second, I ran Diagnose Connection Problems:

    The diagnostic comes up with: Windows cannot connect to the Internet using HTTP, HTTPS, or FTP. This is probably caused by firewall settings on this computer.

    Check the firewall settings for the HTTP port 80, HTTPS port 443, and FTP port 21

    So I go to Windows Firewall---Advanced. Under Network connection settings, both the LAN and Wireless Connection are enabled. Then I went into Settings, checked the boxes for FTP, HTTPS, and HTTP, entered my IP address, and restarted.

    Again, nada when I tried to start Internet Explorer.

    Under More Information, there was also:
    The Domain Name Server (DNS) is not reachable.
    The Domain Name Server (DNS) does not have a listing for the website's domain.
    If this is an HTTPS (secure) address, click Tools, click Internet Options, click Advanced, and check to be sure the SSL and TLS protocols are enabled under the security section.

    Did that, they are enabled, still won't work, grrrrr... <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>


    I even tried temporarily turning off the firewall (I know: bad), and IE still won't connect.

    Firefox fires right up every time, never had a problem with it ever since I got the laptop. I took it to Fry's repair counter a few months ago, and even the tech was stumped. He said, "just use Firefox then." and sent me on my way. Didn't charge me though, so I can't really complain.
    The laptop's a hand-me-down, so does anyone think contacting the manufacturer would yield any results?

    Okay, I'm now out of ideas. Does anyone have any other suggestions what I might try next?
    As of this writing, I obviously can't do anything you need IE explorer for. I don't even have MS Office anymore on this laptop since the trial expired and you need IE to buy/download a new one.

    Thanks for reading; I would really appreciate the help!

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE woes (7)

    Could you connect the laptop to your modem/router with a cable and see if Internet Explorer works? If it does then you can concentrate on something amiss in the wireless settings knowing that the laptop can use Internet Explorer.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE woes (7)

    Thanks for the idea; I'll have to go buy some Ethernet cable, but I'll give it a shot in the next week or two.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE woes (7)

    Wow, what timing with the IE 8 fiasco. I guess since it doesn't connect for me anyway, I don't have to worry too much. I'll still watch for the security patch though.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE woes (7)

    MS has today released a patch for IE. It is now available through Windows Update.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: IE woes (7)

    What IE8 fiasco would that be? Be aware that if you are using IE8 you are doing so at your own risk. It is BETA software and as such is not of the same quality as released software. In this case, Microsoft is releasing a patch for IE8 but you may run into other issues that will not be addressed until another version (either beta, rc, or rtm) is released.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE woes (7)

    Thanks for the reminder, but IE 7 or 8 or any version, beta or not, won't work on my laptop anyway.So I didn't bother downloading it until I can figure out why. Good thing the patch was released though.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: IE woes (7)

    In the meantime, what OS are you running? Is it up-to-date with service packs & patches? Have you tried to reset ie - Tools | Internet Options | Advanced | Reset?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE woes (7)

    Yup, that was one of the first things I did, and.......nothing---"IE cannot display the webpage", as always. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>
    I'm running Windows XP Home Edition Version 2, Service Pack 3. FIrefox on it is perfectly updated and as always in perfect working condition.
    I did run a ShieldsUp diagnostic at grc.com, and this is pretty interesting. It came up with: (quote)

    "Your Internet port 139 does not appear to exist!
    One or more ports on this system are operating in FULL STEALTH MODE! Standard Internet behavior requires port connection attempts to be answered with a success or refusal response. Therefore, only an attempt to connect to a nonexistent computer results in no response of either kind. But YOUR computer has DELIBERATELY CHOSEN NOT TO RESPOND (that's very cool!) which represents advanced computer and port stealthing capabilities. A machine configured in this fashion is well hardened to Internet NetBIOS attack and intrusion.
    Unable to connect with NetBIOS to your computer.
    All attempts to get any information from your computer have FAILED. (This is very uncommon for a Windows networking-based PC.) Relative to vulnerabilities from Windows networking, this computer appears to be VERY SECURE since it is NOT exposing ANY of its internal NetBIOS networking protocol over the Internet."

    Hmmm..... I've had this machine for about 2 years and had no idea it was like this. It looks like perhaps something to do with the NetBIOS is blocking ANY attempt at using IE. I'm at least the third owner of it that I know of, and I may have to do some legwork to find its origin. I've done a lot of mods and improvements on it, so I plan on keeping it. I think I may start looking at other alternatives as far as getting an Office Suite and stick with Firefox--the price to pay for this security.

    As always, thanks for reading, folks <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: IE woes (7)

    NetBIOS communications are meant for local networks only. Blocking access to your NetBIOS ports from the outside world is an essential security precaution, and is a standard feature of all firewall software. That should have no effect on IE's ability to connect to normal web sites.

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: IE woes (7)

    Did you ever try using an ethernet cable instead of wireless?

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •