Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Derby, Derbyshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Boot problems (Vista)

    When I re-start the PC, I get the message:

    "Diskette drive 0 seek failure

    Press F1 to continue, F2 to enter set-up"

    If I press F1, the system starts up normally.

    My system does not have a floppy disk drive, so I assume it is looking for a non-existent floppy drive initially.

    I have tried to change the boot device configuration by pressing F2. This has 'Removable Device Priority' at the top, and i assume that this is what is causing the problem. I cannot find anyway of removing this or putting it lower down the list. Can anyone help me here?

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Boot problems (Vista)

    Do you have a Floppy disk drive indicated in Device Manager? If so, right click on the drive and "uninstall". Reboot and see if the problem is resolved.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Derby, Derbyshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot problems (Vista)

    There was a floppy drive in the installed devices, and I uninstalled it but this has not cured the problem. B ut thanks for the help anyway.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Boot problems (Vista)

    This sounds like a BIOS error message to me. Have you checked the BIOS setup screens to see if there is an option to test the floppy on boot, or to try to boot from a floppy disk?

    StuartR

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Derby, Derbyshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot problems (Vista)

    Yes, I think this is the problem - I just don't know how to fix it.

    When I go to 'Boot Device Configuration' in the BIOS Set-up utility, I have

    >Removable Device Priority [Press Enter]
    >Hard Disk Boot priority {Press Enter]
    First Boot Device [Hard Disk]
    Second Boot Device [Removable]
    Third Boot Device {CDROM]
    Boot Other device {Enabled]

    When I press[Enter] for the Removable Device Prioirty, I get

    1. Floppy Disks.

    I cannot find a way of altering or removing this. The only think I seem to be able to change is the different items appearing under Hard Disk Boot priority.

    Any help gratefully received.

    PS. This problem was not present when I first got the computer earlier this year. It appeared recently after the computer had switched itself off (possibly for a Windows Update) and tried to re-start. I ahve tried resettting to default settings but they are the same as what is there now.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Boot problems (Vista)

    Sounds like this is probably your problem, but it is very hard to suggest how to resolve it without seeing the screens.

    Do you know what BIOS you have, and what version? We may be able to find it on a search.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Derby, Derbyshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot problems (Vista)

    BIOS screens
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Derby, Derbyshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot problems (Vista)

    I have just downloaded an updated version from Dell (who supplied the computer) and this has not made any difference.

    The BIOS menu is labelled Phoenix - AawardBIOS CMS Setup Utility, and it is version 1.0.15.

    I will do seom screen dumps and post
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Boot problems (Vista)

    Two places that you could look.

    See if the Standard CMOS features includes the option to "Disable Floppy Seek" and set this if you can.
    See if the Integrated Peripherals has an option to say that there is no Floppy Disk.

    StuartR

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Boot problems (Vista)

    I have moved this thread from the Windows Vista forum to the Hardware one, as it looks like you have a BIOS problem and not a Windows problem.

    StuartR

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Derby, Derbyshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot problems (Vista)

    Sorted - thanks.

    Standard CMOS was set to say I had a floppy disk drive. I reset it to say there was not one. The boot menu has now removed the floppy disk option and now starts properly.

    Many thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •