Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Invisible database window (XP SP3)

    OK. I have done something really dumb - but I don't know what! I was working with a database and must have pressed a key combination and now I cannot see the database window - no matter how I open the database! This is not the case for other databases of mine - just the one I was in when i did whatever it was I did to hide the DB window. The Windows / Unhide shows nothing to unhide. The Shift / Enter does not open the DB at the database window but at an empty screen.

    Any ideas on what I might have done and what I can do to rectify it?

    Thanks.

    Graeme.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Invisible database window (XP SP3)

    I wonder if the db window has been dragged somewhere so it is outside the visible area of the screen.

    Try Window...Tile Horizontally .
    Regards
    John



  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Invisible database window (XP SP3)

    Try

    Tools ---> Startup

    Tick Display Database Window
    Jerry

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Invisible database window (XP SP3)

    If that check box is cleared, Windows | Unhide would list the database window. but Graeme12 mentioned that "Windows / Unhide shows nothing to unhide". So I don't think this is the cause of the problem. I'd put my money on John Hutchison's suggestion.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Invisible database window (XP SP3)

    I'd follow John's suggestion, in that it is probably outside the screen area. If the screen shows scrollbars, this is a clue. Another possibilty is that it got made very tiny, so it may be difficult to see.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Invisible database window (XP SP3)

    Sorry Graeme, that will teach me to read your post properly, I have given you the completely wrong suggestion, please ignore my last post. <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>
    Jerry

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Invisible database window (XP SP3)

    Thanks John and also to Mark and Jezza for responding. You were spot on - I had (must have - but can't recall - must have clicked the mouse button as I was moving the cursor and was not watching) dragged the db window out of view. Tiling fixed it. And such a simple fix.

    My thanks for your help.

    Graeme.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •