Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cannot Add Favorites_Vista (7)

    Man...

    I'm not sure if it's Vista related...but I sure hate this operating system.

    Anyway...after a Vista crash in which I was informed (in an official windows dialog) that the 'repair' option would not mess w/ my personal data...the OS 'restored' itself...on it's own...& overwrote all my personal data. This is of course another story for another day...but now that I'm back up & running I've noticed that...in IE...I cannot save any favorites. I can surf to a website; & then try to save it as a Favorite...but an 'unspecified error' message pops up telling me it is unable to create the shortcut.

    Can someone please help me solve this...Favorites are a big part of my web experience.

    Thanks much,


    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Cannot Add Favorites_Vista (7)

    Mark,
    With the other problems that you are having. Make a GOOD copy of all your data to a external drive, I would even make two copies to two different external drives.
    Then reset back to Factory settings and get this machine cleaned. Start making Images of this machine as you go using a "Imaging" program.

    Make sure that you have updated all of you external devices to Vista drivers and they are working like they should.

    Once you have it it cleaned and all of your software and hardware running, start transferring your data back to it.


    Questions:
    Do you have the UAC turned off, if so, leave it on?
    Are you trying to use the "Document and Settings" folders, if so don't, use the "Users" folders?
    What protection software , including the ones that came with the machine are installed?
    Make and model of this machine?
    How much RAM does it have?
    Have you copied anything to the "System Recover" partition, which is the D drive on some machines?


    Give the OS a chance, and try to learn it. It is a lot simpler once one tries to FORGET the old tricks.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Cannot Add Favorites_Vista (7)

    >>Do you have the UAC turned off?<<

    Not sure what that is

    >>Are you trying to use the "Document and Settings" folders, if so don't, use the "Users" folders?<<

    I cant find a 'docs & settings' folder. I have a 'Documents' folder (in the file tree under my user name); & a USER folder (on the local drive).

    >>What protection software , including the ones that came with the machine are installed?<<

    HP Total Care Advisor, which was partaially written over in the fake restore...I can't even delete it fully, now. I've since deleted the stupid HP recovery partition.

    >>Make and model of this machine?<<

    Compaq Presario SR5610F

    >>How much RAM does it have?<<

    3 G's

    >>Have you copied anything to the "System Recover" partition, which is the D drive on some machines?<<

    See above

    MF
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Cannot Add Favorites_Vista (7)

    mark4man,

    From this and other threads you have recently posted and with no Image available, it looks like YOU have dug yourself a hole that is too deep to get out of, just by throwing you a rope.

    Bite the bullet, back up any files and data that is salvageable and CLEAN INSTALL the OS. IF you just have the OEM recovery CD, then restore all to it's original condition.

    Get started reinstalling your apps and buy an Imaging program and use it faithfully .
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Cannot Add Favorites_Vista (7)

    <hr>HP Total Care Advisor, which was partaially written over in the fake restore...I can't even delete it fully, now. I've since deleted the stupid HP recovery partition.<hr>
    If you did NOT make the System Recover DVD's, you are going to have to order them from Compaq. Most OEM's have them for about $25.00 US.

    Note, I always buy them, as the ones you make MAY not work, and there is no way of Testing them, except by doing a "System Recover" by using them.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Cannot Add Favorites_Vista (7)

    vik...

    u B rite, man. 1st off, the (cheap) new box didn't even come w/ an OEM OS disc...just the recovery partition. I'm going w/ XP Pro (which I found new, at newegg) & hope I can authorize it just w/ the product key on the box (i.e., no online crapiola in order to operate correctly).

    davea...

    hey...please do not think I'm lashing out at you...would never do that...don't get the wrong idea...I appreciate u & everyone here & all the help I've received over the years...dead serious about that. I'm just mad at MS...& I thought I was doing the right (& easy) thing, dedicating my ADK to audio & grabbing an off-the-shelf PC for everything else. now i got all this here mess, man.

    Thanks all,

    MF


    BTW - On the not being able to add favorites thing...can that be repaired?
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Cannot Add Favorites_Vista (7)

    Before you even try to put XP on this box.
    If the new box has SATA drives, you will need the driver for them up front during the XP install, as XP does NOT come with them.

    Get ALL of the XP drivers for the devices and I am sure you are going to out that Compaq (HP) will NOT have all of them. As they are NOT supporting OLD OS's on their new Vista devices.


    From Select your operating system


    Microsoft Windows Vista
    Microsoft Windows Vista (64-bit)


    Don't see your operating system?If your operating system is not listed, HP does not currently have software or driver downloads available for your product for that operating system, or they are not available in the language you have chosen. To look for a driver in another language, change the software/driver language by clicking the "Change your software/driver language:" link on this page to see what drivers are available for your operating system.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •