Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    how do I debug AutoExec code when Word fires up? (W97sr2 - VBA)

    Hiya

    Is there a way to debug/breakpoint AutoExec code when firing up & opening word?

    We have AutoExec code which is called when word is open.
    We have had a few support queries regarding
    When user on laptop on standalone environment
    When users fire up word takes an awfully long time to open word.
    Its only on a standalone environment

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: how do I debug AutoExec code when Word fires up? (W97sr2 - VBA)

    What happens if you use a Stop statement at the beginning of the AutoExec procedure? (I can't remember whether that works with the editor closed.)

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: how do I debug AutoExec code when Word fires up? (W97sr2 - VBA)

    Stop should cause it to break into code.
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: how do I debug AutoExec code when Word fires up? (W97sr2 - VBA)

    If running Norton Auntie Viris, disable the Office AV plug-in.

    For NAV 2000, see document 1999091612160606 at Symantec's web site, or,
    e.g., q243579 in the MSFT KB.
    For NAV 2001, there's an option within NAV to disable the add-in.

    Do not also disable AutoProt in NAV, it's just the add-in that causes
    problems.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 28 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: how do I debug AutoExec code when Word fires up? (W97sr2 - VBA)

    There's a command line switch to fire up Word without any AutoExec macros running (but someone's going to have to help me out as I don't recall what it is).

    If you can get Word to start up without the AutoExec running, you can then open the global template that contains the AutoExec and step through the code, set breakpoints etc.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: how do I debug AutoExec code when Word fires up? (W97sr2 - VBA)

    Diana,

    An AV program (like Norton) is a definite possibility.

    I've chedked for execution of AutoOpen programs by going into the macro editor, when Word is open, and running the routine again.

    I've also had add-ins which slow things down. They're harder to debug- because you have to have them loaded to step through, and add-ins don't load. Check the folder in Tools, Options, File Locations, and check in the startup directory shown. It's possible there's a file in that folder which can also influence Word's performance when opening.
    Subway Belconnen- home of the Signboard to make you smile. Get (almost) daily updates- follow SubwayBelconnen on Twitter.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •