Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Columns in a report (2007)

    I have subreport that has a single text box in that lists a series of items that I want to be into two columns to shorten the height to what we want when we print. Some of the items are longer than the column will be wide, such that it needs to spill over to the next line and sometimes three. I am unable to get this to ever show up in more than one column. I must be missing something!
    The detail section and the text box both seem to require to be set "Yes" on "Can Grow" in order to accomodate the longer items. Rather than going to two columns, it changes to a box with scroll bars to scroll through the list. Any ideas what I am missing?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Columns in a report (2007)

    In Page Setup of the Sub Report have you set the Number of Columns to be 2 (or more)?

    You also need to make the subreport control on main report wide enough to display both columns.
    Regards
    John



  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Columns in a report (2007)

    Yes, the columns are set to 2. I tried stretching the subreport wider with no change. Should the text box be as wide as just the one column, or the whole width of the subreport? (I've tried both ways to no effect.)

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Columns in a report (2007)

    The width of the text box must be a little less than the column width.
    Also is the layout of the Columns set to Across then Down, or Down then Across? Down then Across won't start a second column until it runs out of space in the first column.
    Regards
    John



  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Columns in a report (2007)

    Post deleted by wsryan

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Columns in a report (2007)

    The database that you attached is in the new Access 2007 .accdb format. Unless this is relevant to your problem, it would be better to attach an Access 2000 .mdb database, for the number of Access 2007 users is still limited.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Columns in a report (2007)

    Sorry about the accdb. But, I am embarrassed to remember that the columns only show up in the PrintPreview view, but not in the Report view. I think it is all working correctly.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Columns in a report (2007)

    OK, let's hope so <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •