Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    TampaBay, Florida, USA
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    On going problem

    Hello,

    I've been having this problem for a couple of months.

    I'm running two computers on a wired network. (Netgear router)

    My wife has a one year old HP desktop running Vista Home Premium.
    She boots up and the computer doesn't connect to the internet.
    She has to unplug Ethernet cable, wait a few seconds and plug the cable back in, and it goes on line.

    I was using a laptop running XP SP-3.
    I would boot up and I connected every time.

    I got a new desktop running Vista Home Premium x64.
    I boot up and it connects every time.

    My wife's machine still won't connect on boot up, without unplugging and reconnecting the Ethernet cable.

    We've had the cable company out several times and they've changed out the router, and checked everything.
    It connects some times by itself, but she mostly has to remove and repluh in the cable.

    Any ideas or suggestions?

    Thanks,

    JohnSo

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: On going problem

    Have you tried a different cable? Have you tried a different port on the router? Is there a lot programs starting when the PC boots? Is there a third party firewall running?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    TampaBay, Florida, USA
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: On going problem

    Tried different cables
    Tried different ports
    Not many programs starting
    Only Windows firewall

    JohnSo

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: On going problem

    From your description it seems as thought the NIC is not turned on or you are not waiting long enough for Vista to enable networking. Have you checked the device manager to make sure that all is OK (right click Computer, select Manage, then Device Manager)? Have you waited for a few minutes to make sure eveything else is started on the PC before starting the browser?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: On going problem

    Is this machine being turned OFF or is it going into hibernation or to sleep and then she is turning it back on?

    By default, the on/off switch is set to put the machine to sleep or hibernation NOT off.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    TampaBay, Florida, USA
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: On going problem

    Joe & Dave,
    Sorry to take so long to get back to you.
    Machine is shut down then turned off by a switch controlled outlet.

    What is "NIC"

    When computer is booted up, a small (icon?) shows up in the lower right of monitor.
    (this is next to the date and shows what is running)
    If I move mouse over it this is displayed:

    Currently connected to: Network
    Access: Local and internet ((internet only shows up if Ethernet cable is unplugged from router
    and replugged in, sometimes two or three times)

    This is only happening on my wife's computer.
    My computer boots up and finds connects to the internet as part of the boot up.

    Thanks,

    JohnSo

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: On going problem

    NIC stands for Network Interface Card, it is the bit of hardware in your computer that the Ethernet cable plugs into. Often this is included on the motherboard.

    Just as an experiment can you create a short file, called RESET-NETWORK.BAT with the following 3 lines (third one is just a blank line)
    IPCONFIG / RELEASE
    IPCONFIG / RENEW

    Store this file somewhere on your computer and then create a shortcut to it in your Startup menu, so that it is executed whenever you log in to the computer.

    Does this fix the problem?

    StuartR

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: On going problem

    "Machine is shut down then turned off by a switch controlled outlet."

    Does this mean that you are NOT using the shutdown down that in on the "Start" menu?
    If so then this is NOT good, one should NEVER just turn off the power, but use the Start menu to shut things down.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,420
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: On going problem

    Stuart

    Your BATch file must not have a space between the '/' and the next word - as written, both commands will give an error message.

    And there's no reason to include a blank line - better to put PAUSE on a third line to see what happened..

    So:<pre>IPCONFIG /RELEASE
    IPCONFIG /RENEW
    PAUSE</pre>

    The curse of the typo...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: On going problem

    Thanks, that's what I get for not copying and pasting functional code.

    StuartR

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    TampaBay, Florida, USA
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: On going problem

    Dave,

    The machine is shut down using the Start, Shut down menu,
    Then when the the shut down process is complete, then a power switch is shut off.

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    TampaBay, Florida, USA
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: On going problem

    StuartR,

    I will try your suggestion

    Thanks everyone for your help.
    The people on this group are the best!

    JohnSo

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: On going problem

    Since these machines are running Vista, go to the Network Icon in the system tray and open the "Network and Sharing Center". Then click on "Customize", and make sure that the connection is "Private"

    While at the center make sure that "Network Discovery" is ON.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •