Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Create CommandBars (2007)

    Hi. The CommandBars collection is listed in the Object Browser of Word 2007, but doesn't seem to do anything. Is it possible to create a CommandBar in Word 2003 and save it with a template. If I then open this template in 2007, will the commandbar be 'active' and able to drive the template with macros? Andy.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Create CommandBars (2007)

    The command bars have been replaced with the Ribbon in most Office 2007 applications. The only toolbar that still exists is the Quick Access Toolbar (QAT), but this is very limited compared to the pre-2007 toolbars.
    To customize the ribbon requires knowledge of XML or using a third-party add-in such as the RibbonCustomizerâ„¢ (there's a free Starter Edition and a more extensive commercial Professional Edition)

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Create CommandBars (2007)

    FWIW

    Prior to moving from 2003 to 2007 my users had a command bar created by an add-in macro when Word was launched. On exiting Word another macro deleted the command bar.

    On moving to Office 2007 the command bar is created in the Add-Ins section of the ribbon and works properly. However for some reason rogue commands were also created as identified <!post=here,735800>here<!/post>.
    Regards
    Don

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Create CommandBars (2007)

    Thank you both.
    I gather using toolbars created in 2003 is not a good long-term solution, as it would require keeping a copy of 2003 to modify the toolbars in future?
    Do MacroButtons work as previously? A (messy) solution might be to put these buttons in a document and use these to drive the templates. Andy.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Create CommandBars (2007)

    Macrobutton fields should still work in Word 2007.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 66 Times in 56 Posts

    Re: Create CommandBars (2007)

    This page has information about customizing the ribbon that is beyond my need to learn.

    http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Customize_Ribbon.htm

    But is sounds interesting and doable.

    PamC
    Pam Caswell

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Create CommandBars (2007)

    Thank you. I was also considering creating a UserForm with a number of command buttons on it. I believe I can show it at startup in Word, make it a suitable size, make it non-modal, etc.. Can you forsee anything wrong with this approach? Andy.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •