Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Gold Lounger
    Thanks

ubuntu, lessons learned

Hello All,
    Just thought that i would put my two cents in about dual booting "linux ubuntu" It would seem that ubuntu is not for "noobs"I have given this a somewhat fair try, (only about a week and many,many hours) but almost every thing that i have tried resulted in less than stunning success! (Good thing i backed up both hard drives) "Ubuntu start screen (when you stand back from the screen a bit looks like a profile of a "screaming skull") very creepy! should have taken that as a warning of things to come.Seems to me that even in the "absolute Beginner" forum the replies are in Command prompt "geek speak" on the main forums they seem to take great delight in going on and on comparing command prompt posts! Ubuntu has a dedicated following of masochistic "true believers" Fellow noobs take my advice stay away from this!Take your lumps with XP, Vista , or 7. If you want specifics, post back and i'll fill you in with all the gory details.Bottom line "it ain't worth it" (free software) Gladly spend a few $$ for a out of the box working system. Regards PlainFred
    PlainFred

None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

Thanks

Re: ubuntu, lessons learned

There are graphical shells for Linux, but I agree that those who have no interest in getting down and nerdy with their OS should shy away from Linux. Best for them to focus on Apple and Microsoft products. Both companies have made a good business out of shielding the average consumer from the bewildering plumbing underlying their modern OSes.

Silver Lounger
    Thanks