Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Human Interface Device Access Service

    I have a wireless Microsoft Keyboard and Mouse. I discovered that the keyboard shortcuts were not working so I Googled the problem and discovered that the Human Interface Device was required to be running in Services. It was disabled, so I enabled it and tried to start it running. This message appeared: Services could not start Human Interface Device Access service on Local Computer. Error 2 - The system can not find file specified. The Service name is: HidServ (does that mean that the service is hidden? If so, how do I un-hide it?

    I went further and checked on its Properties and saw: This services depends on the following system components: Remote Procedure Call (RPC). Went to that service and both Remote Procedure Call (RPC) and the Locator were both started and on Automatic.

    This is not an earth shaking problem but I would like to use the extra buttons on my keyboard if possible.
    Is there a way to enable them?

    I will appreciate all suggestions.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Human Interface Device Access Service

    > The Service name is: HidServ (does that mean that the service is hidden?

    No, HID is the abbreviation of Human Interface Device here.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Human Interface Device Access Service

    Do you have an installation CD for the keyboard/mouse? If so, try uninstalling and reinstalling the software.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Human Interface Device Access Service

    Now why didn't I realize that? Don't bother to answer that question, Thank you for clearing that up.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Human Interface Device Access Service

    If you have a well marketed MICROSOFT mouse and keyboard, WHY are you Googling around and mucking in services and such? This is (or must be) a reputable MS product for which you can get help other than blasting away at services and other "guts of the computer" stuff. So, have you yet tried Hans' basic suggestion of uninstall-reinstall? I have Logitech rather than Microsoft, but installing the supporting Logitech software activates all the added functions and buttons on my keyboard, including the ability to customize. You should have the same success with a MS product I would hope.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Human Interface Device Access Service

    Yes, I have the CD. The software for the keyboard and mouse (both wireless) uses IntelliType Pro. Will I have to reinstall that too?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Human Interface Device Access Service

    Most probably yes.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Human Interface Device Access Service

    I was lead to services Human Interface Device Access by a forum post (not Woody's). When I went to Services I read this explanation regarding it.

    Enables generic input access to HID, which activates and maintains the use of predefined hot buttons on keyboards, remote controls, and other multimedia devices. If this service is stopped, hot buttons controlled by this service will no longer function.

    If this service is disabled, any services that explicitly depend on it will fail to start..

    This sounded to me like what was going on with my keyboard. If you read this would you not think that it was needed to get your keyboard functioning like it was made to do?

    Searching for a fix is not consider "mucking around" as far as I'm concerned. I need some help with this and I'd appreciate someone sending me a possible fix that I can try.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Human Interface Device Access Service

    <hr>Searching for a fix is not consider "mucking around" as far as I'm concerned. I need some help with this and I'd appreciate someone sending me a possible fix that I can try.
    <hr>
    PLEASE take Hans' suggestion and re-install anything and everything that came with the mouse and keyboard. For something as straight forward as this you should NOT have to be mucking around in services and other "bowels" of the OS. If you install the software that came with the hardware and it doesn't work, I'd return it for a refund and find something that does.

    In order to get an automobile engine to start, I should NOT have to lift the bonnet and detach or attach wires.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Human Interface Device Access Service

    Great News! You and Hans will be happy to know that I went to IntelliType Pro's Help and it was suggested that I click the Default button, which I did and the buttons are working now. Although HID is not fixed I'm satisfied with my keyboard without enabling it.

    I thank you both for trying to assist me.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Human Interface Device Access Service

    Good to hear that!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •