Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    Hope this is the right forum???

    At home I access the internet with a 3G modem and a contract with my ISP where they provide me a set amount of MB's per month. So as I "surf", the modem software gives me an approximate value of how much MB's I have used during my session on the web.

    My question is...
    Is there a way to limit the amount of MB's I use during a session on the web. What contributes to the amount of KB's as a page loads?

    My logical ideas are:
    <UL><LI>Prevent pictures from loading by switching off the picture option in IE options (let it display picture placeholders)
    <LI>Switch off animation effects
    <LI>Try using skins with limited colour on pages that provide interface options[/list]Are there more things I can do to prevent excess usage of MB's? What other tips or IE options can you suggest that I can tweak to allow me to stay online longer whilst using less MB's.

    Any tips will allow me to lounge around in here loooooooonger <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Regards,
    Rudi

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    In line with your preventing pictures suggestion, you could change the setting in your TIF - you'd have to balance the risk of not getting new information/data against reducing the download. Increasing your TIF space allocation would also help by creating a larger depository of already-downloaded data which wouldn't be refreshed.

    I think General Windows may be a more suitable location than Hardware...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: gif x.gif (13.2 KB, 0 views)

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    TX Leif,

    Going to this dialog, I notice my settings are exactly like yours. (On automatic and allocation is set to 50).

    I can increase the allocation and make it a bit higher, but what do you recommend I choose in the Check for newer verions options?

    TX
    Regards,
    Rudi

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    I would guess Automatic is the 'safest' option. I think a lot of it is going to depend on the kind of sites you visit and how they implement dynamic refreshing (if that's the right term!)

    Of course, if you are not revisiting sites, checking for newer versions is not applicable in the first place!

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    TX for the info Leif.

    PS: Does things like skins affect the MB usage? Will it help to switch to a less detailsed skin?
    What about colour?

    <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>I know I am pulling things from my hat now... , but its a learning curve...knowledge is power!!
    Regards,
    Rudi

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    The definitive answer to that is 'possibly' <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    I suspect that it is pretty minimal!

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    My definitive reply is "COOL"!

    PS: Whats this with swopping admin logos. I saw it earlier. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards,
    Rudi

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    The lower one <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3timages/gifa.gif> is my personal logo, the upper one <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3timages/adm.gif> is the default Admin logo used when I do something administratively, like moving one of your posts <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    <img src=/S/whisper.gif border=0 alt=whisper width=29 height=17>Wow...I didn't know we can get personal logos! Don't suppose I can get one too?? <img src=/S/blackteeth.gif border=0 alt=blackteeth width=20 height=20>
    Regards,
    Rudi

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    >> Don't suppose I can get one too??

    You do continue to surprise me with your correct suppositions, Rudi. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>


    ( <img src=/S/whisper.gif border=0 alt=whisper width=29 height=17> 'Flags' are limited to WMVPs I'm afraid - see <!help=06>Help 06<!/help> )

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    Hi Rudi,

    For sites such as the Lounge where you're given a selection of forums, with many posts below, you can limit the amount of bandwidth by using your back button in the browser, rather than going to the "Main Menu" link.

    It takes a bit of getting used to, but I find I can get to all the new posts in the forums I read, and then do a refresh of the main menu when I think I'm ready to leave the Lounge (temporary of course). If any of my favourite forums have a new post or reply, I can go take a look.

    Note, this may simply be Woody's Lounge specific, as I don't generally post on any other message forum like this.
    Christopher Baldrey

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    That is a great tip Christopher. Thanks. I'll take this into mind and see how it goes.
    Cheers for that!
    Regards,
    Rudi

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    Rudi:

    I assume you are looking for ways to reduce your internet access costs and/or increase your online time.

    You posted a picture of your modem in an other thread. I think the brand name was "Vodaphone". That, and your reference to 3G, leads me to think you are accessing the internet through a cell phone provider. Don't know how it is in SA, but where I live that has got to be one of the more expensive ways to access the Interwebby. Have you looked into more economical access plans from your provider, such as "unlimited access", if available? Are there more economical alternative providers such as DSL or cable services?

    Are you really limited to the "MB" range? I have DSL service. There is a transfer cap, but it is 200GB per month. My ISP stats show that I have never exceeded 6 GB/M, except this month... I downloaded Windows 7 and the ShadowProtect package.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Limiting amount of bytes used while on Internet

    Hi Paul,

    Your reply is very insightful. I have indeed got a cell phone provider account. I have looked at other types of access, and some of them are very well priced, but for my purposes, and the fact that I travel fairly often, this roaming option with a 3G anywhere/anytime type access is best for me. This also coupled with the fact that I am currently renting my house and do not have a fixed line does not allow for cable services that have larger to unlimited transfer caps.

    I am very happy with my current ISP and I am not so hard pressed for bandwidth, etc. I thought I'd just ask as my son often wants to get onto the web (for home) and check out the latest WWE wrestling results etc! Its crazy the way he goes on! <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Cheers
    Regards,
    Rudi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •