Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london, Gtr London, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    optical wheel mouse

    Have an MS optical wheel mouse that appears to cause the computer to hang regularly...
    Very bad in MS Explorer... move the mouse at the wrong time and it hangs... ctrl+alt+delete comes up with either explorer not responding or ZoneAlarm firewall not responding
    have tried reinstalling all of them but with no joy.
    Anyone else experience similar problems?
    Anyone know a fix or work around?
    Cheers big ears!

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Evansville, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: optical wheel mouse

    Don't know if this will help, but I have an MS optical wheel mouse that cause no problems at all. I had ZoneAlarm for about a week before I uninstalled it. I could not get any work done for all the system freezes and hangs. Have you tried uninstalling ZoneAlarm to see if that helps?

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london, Gtr London, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: optical wheel mouse

    Trena, Thanks for the reply...
    Have not tried uninstalling ZoneAlarm and would be very nervous to do so, as am on ADSL and therefore permanently connected.
    Was not aware of how many scanning attempts etc were happening in the background until I got ZoneAlarm and started seeing all of it's warning messages poping up!
    If you uninstalled ZoneAlarm, what did you replace it with?
    I use ZoneAlarm on six other computers (work) without any troubles at all... all seems to be connected to the wheel mouse!
    <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: optical wheel mouse

    Why not give the Logitech V9 driver a go?
    I had some incompatability problems between some CAD software and the MS drivers which was cured by simply using Logitech.
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.logitech.com>http://www.logitech.com</A>

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london, Gtr London, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: optical wheel mouse

    Leif,
    Are you suggesting that i replace the MS driver with the logitech driver or I should replace the whole mouse?
    Thanks
    David

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: optical wheel mouse

    Just the driver.
    I suspect their may be another hardware aspect in this, as I have an (almost) identical software set-up on a a more recent pc without any conflict (i.e. I'm now using the MS driver software without any conflict).

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london, Gtr London, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: optical wheel mouse

    Thank you sir!
    Will try it when i can get the Logitech site to download, keep getting the message Gateway Timeout.
    Dont get a conflict listed, system just hangs, Ctrl+Alt+Del several times, close ZoneAlarm and all works again but with no firewall!

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: optical wheel mouse

    Before you go replacing drivers, you might try decresing your hardware acceleration for your display adapter.

    I've got the Microsoft Optical TrackBall, and was experiencing the same problem. This fix resolved it, and made my system run better to boot!

    To correct this, right click on your desktop, click Properties, Click Settings Tab, Click Advanced, Click Performance Tab, and drag the hardware acceleration slider one notch over none. Then re-boot and see if it works.

    Hope that helps!
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london, Gtr London, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: optical wheel mouse

    hardware acceleration was already set to this... would it hurt to set it to Zero? What does hardware aceleration do anyway?
    Thanks for the advice!

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london, Gtr London, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: optical wheel mouse

    Leif,
    Thanks again for the advice...
    The logitech driver you refer to is it:
    MOUSEWARE

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london, Gtr London, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: optical wheel mouse

    As of 22/10/01 all problems now solved... latest Zonealarm with latest optical mouse drivers and no crashes!
    Thanks for all the help one and all!

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: optical wheel mouse

    Hi
    Windows Rule that Takes Precedence Above (Almost) All Others :
    when you identify a hardware problem, make sure you have the latest drivers from the manufacturer's website for your exact model in the OS you're running. Do NOT trust the CD that came with the kit.

    This may seem like stating the obvious, but I'm constantly surprised by the number of queries put forward before this vital step has been taken.

    Unfortunately, the same cannot always be advised for software. Although from personal experience I would say 'get the latest version for your OS' there are numerous instances of this causing deeper difficulties. IE is a case in point.

    Rgds

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •