Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Suffolk, United Kingdom
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problem combo box (2003)

    Hi All,

    Does anyone know why my combo box is not doing as I expected. I have a form which was created a few weeks ago, and have now decided to add a combo box to this form, the combo box uses the row Source property to read the data from a table the field name in the table is called 'user_code'

    When viewing the query in view mode I can see the data I expected however when I save the form and open it in normal mode the drop down display the right amount of rows but I cannot see any text.

    The combo is not bound to anything, I was going to use the after update event to filter the other data on the form.

    Thanks

    UPDATE: I have noticed if I add more than one column to the row source i.e. User_code and Name and set the bound coloumn to 1 (user_code) and column count to two if I click the combo the dropdown will display blank under user_code but I can see the names in the name column when I select one nothing gets displayed in the combo box the value is null
    Regards
    Gerbil (AKA Kevin)

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts

    Re: Problem combo box (2003)

    Could you post a stripped down copy of your database? See <post#=401925>post 401925</post#> for instructions.

    BTW was the reply to <post:=755,844>post 755,844</post:> helpful?

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Suffolk, United Kingdom
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem combo box (2003)

    Thanks Hans, I will do. And yes it was helpfull I have only just had time to test it out but works gret now many thanks. Have replied on the original post now!
    Regards
    Gerbil (AKA Kevin)

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Suffolk, United Kingdom
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem combo box (2003)

    Thanks

    Heres part one of the striped down database
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Regards
    Gerbil (AKA Kevin)

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Suffolk, United Kingdom
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem combo box (2003)

    Hi,

    Heres part two this is the backend with the data.

    The form is in the first download and called frm_Dashboard_IA I have highlighted the problem combo in red

    Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Regards
    Gerbil (AKA Kevin)

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    189
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem combo box (2003)

    Have you recently updated to SP3 of Office 2003? I had the same problem with combos with one of my databases. There is a fix on the Microsoft website - article 945280 in the Microsoft Knowledge base. This should resolve the problem.
    John

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts

    Re: Problem combo box (2003)

    I think John (jaf90) has hit the nail on the head: there was a problem with combo boxes in Access 2003 SP3. Here is a direct link to the fix:

    Description of the Access 2003 post-Service Pack 3 hotfix package: December 18, 2007.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •