Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    Not surprising, probably, but McAfee VirusScan 2009 won't fully install under Windows 7 beta build 7000. The SiteAdvisor functionality works but not the core virus scan itself.

    I guess also that there would be no workarounds at build 7000 but has anybody any suggestions?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    Not surprising at all! Not many (if any) software manufacturers will even attempt to offer support for a Beta product. Suggestions? - you might want to try some of the other "free" products, live with the current situation, or go back to the OS which you were using prior to W7.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    Thanks, John. You are right of course, but is does, perhaps, confirm that there are some fundamental differences between Win7 and Vista under the hood.

    There is no power on the planet that would convincing me to go back to Vista - my experience on my Toshiba laptop (Vista Business) accords with those who have described Vista as "electronic molasses". The difference in the machine's performance since installing Win7 is nothing short of miraculous - everything now happens more or less instantaneously instead of waiting ... waiting ... waiting for the little circle to stop spinning. Win7 is what Vista should have been.

    I'll live with the virus risk, I think, at least for the time being. No way am I going back !

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    I've had a lot of success with AVG 8. It installs easily and there is no discernible performance hit. I believe there are a few other AV poducts that claim to work with Windows 7.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    Thanks, Paul. I'll check out AVG.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    I've got AVAST running OK on mine - also free.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    <hr>There is no power on the planet that would convincing me to go back to Vista<hr>

    BUT, the Beta will EXPIRE and you will need to uninstall it before you can install the Production Release.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    Thanks for the tip, Al. A Google search reveals a number of web sites offering Avast and a number of different editions, some free, some not.

    Could you please identify which one of the free editions you are using with Win 7 and which web site you downloaded it from.

    Thanks again.

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    Yes, Dave, in August, I believe.

    No price is too big to keep Vista out of my life <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25> (well, that's a slight exaggeration, but you know what I mean).

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    Well, THE Avast web site is here: avast! - Download antivirus software for spyware and virus protection

    You're probably encountering web sites wanting to sell the PRO version which is NOT free. Be sure you click the tab for the FREE version, not the Pro. (I'm using the current version, 4.8)

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    Thanks, Al. Got it ! Installed it ! Looks OK.

    I appreciate your help.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    WE have NOT have any real issues with Vista, they have ALL been Program or hardware issues, the the OEM's, NOT Microsoft.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    > I'll live with the virus risk, I think, at least for the time being. No way am I going back !

    Not that it is my business, but are you running on beta OS on a daily basis? Yes, I have read a lot of comments about the latest beta of Microsoft's client OS and seen some that indicates that the person is running completely and only on the beta. I don't think that is such a good idea. True, many of the developers have mentioned that they run it both on home and work machines (what else could/should they say). But that doesn't mean that their data is also on that PC.

    Anyhow, in my tests with the Windows 7 beta I have used AVG 8 as anti-virus. There is a post over at the Windows 7 Team Blog:
    Anti-Virus Solutions for the Windows 7 Beta

    No doubt, there are other AV solutions available that also work, as seen here, in the blog post comments and elsewhere on the net.

  14. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    Thanks for your concern, Argus.

    No, I'm using it only on a laptop - it is a secondary machine and not used on a daily basis. In any event I have now installed Avast 4.8 and (hopeful) this is providing all the protection that the machine needs.

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows 7 and McAfee VirusScan

    A bit of followup advice for you. I've been running Avast for a couple of years now and it has served me well, so I don't think you'll regret using it. When you boot that laptop each time, you'd be wise to wait for several minutes after the bootup has finished because Avast is VERY GOOD about updating itself and if the machine has been offline, Avast will immediately try to update itself. I always feel a bit "safer" if I'm not trying to do something else at the same time, just in case it has a big update to download, just so I don't screw anything up. It usually takes place shortly after bootup. Good luck...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •