Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cloned new hard drive not booting

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jonWallace on 09-Feb-09 12:21. more information given(sorry))</P>Hi,

    My PC has a (dying) SATA hard drive containing a recovery partition. I used Acronis TI to clone the drive to a new one housed in a cradle and connected via USB. When the job was done, I swapped out the old drive and installed the new one. On reboot, the PC sticks at the "Press f10 for recovery" screen instead of shooting straight through to Windows.

    Booting from a bootable UBCD4Win cd and having quick look at the structure of the disk (with Disk Management) everything looks ok, the recovery partition doesn't have a drive letter and the C: partition is set as active. Now I'm at a loss where to go. Am I missing something?

    I should have said that I'm running winxp home sp2 on a pc from mesh.co.uk
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Cloned new hard drive not booting

    In spite of TI calling it 'cloning', I don't think it really copies the boot information to the new drive. You probably need to run a repair of the Windows install.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Cloned new hard drive not booting

    Thanks for replying

    I get the impression that it is designed for cloning a replacement HD. To quote from the manual - "In the automatic mode, you will only have to take some simple actions to transfer all the
    data, including partitions, folders and files, to a newer disk, making it bootable if the original disk was bootable. "

    The problem about trying a repair is that while I can start the recovery console, it doesn't seem to want to do anything, but hey it's worth another try.

    As an aside, I also tried MaxBlast 5 from Maxtor - designed for the job I'm trying - and it turns out to be Acronis software with a couple of bits lopped off so that it's so job is to clone a system disk.
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Cloned new hard drive not booting

    First, let me say I've quite using TI. Unless the new disk is exactly the same model as the old I think you are running into what others have seen with TI. The only way I ever got that to work was to image the drive and restore the image. Then run a repair to get the hal.dll to be re-built. I never got the clone of a boot drive/partition to work as the documentation implies.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Cloned new hard drive not booting

    Update in case anyone is interested. I started with the new (unbootable) harddrive containing the cloned partitions from the old disk. (I used Maxblast to do the cloning)

    I installed the new hard drive in my pc and put the dying one safely aside.

    First, I made the executive decision that I didn't care about the recovery partition (I've got Mesh re-install disks somewhere) so I booted the PC with a Gparted live CD and removed the recovery partition from the first bit of the drive.

    Second, I used Gparted to "grow" the remaining partition to fill the drive.

    Then I rebooted, this time with a UBCD4win CD. I used this to find and edit the boot.ini file (in the root of c to tell it that the boot partiton had changed. Also I used MBRFix to rewrite the MBR.

    Then I popped the CD and rebooted to the internal (new) hard disk (I say internal, but it was lying on a box outside the case at this point). Windows started and informed me that it required to do a checkdisk, so I let it. When it was done, I was informed that Maxblast was finished then the PC rebooted itself again and all was hunky dory. I plonked the old drive in a cradle and copied over things like my email mailbox and Liam's dwarf fortress save positions and all seems rosy.

    Oh and I didn't have to wipe the disk and reload all my stuff (just so dull and boring to do!!)

    Hope this helps somebody out there...
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Cloned new hard drive not booting

    Thanks for posting back with your solution. <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>

    I too have found that TI seems to work better if the drives are installed in the case (or sitting on a box outside, but connected to the MB <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>). External drives always seem to have "issues" with image restoration and cloning in my experience.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •