Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Renaming printers on a printserver?

    Does anyone know how I can rename my printers on Win 2000? They're on a small network on a printserver so their names are something like "Laserwriter on PRINTSERVER". The full path has to be less than 31 letters for my software to print to it.

    I expected to be able to right click on a printer and have a rename option. Nope. I tried reinstalling them but giving them a name isn't an option.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Renaming printers on a printserver?

    Hi
    Go to Control Panel/Printers and right click on the one you want to rename. Are you saying that the option does not appear?
    If not, are you sure you logged on as Administrator?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Renaming printers on a printserver?

    Another thing is to remove the printer and then run the print wizard again and type in the name you want.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Renaming printers on a printserver?

    Where do you type the name. There didn't seem to be an option to do that, or is it the path name (I didn't want to change it in case it screwed up)

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Renaming printers on a printserver?

    Yep, even when logged on as Admin it isn't offered on a right click, on either of my Win2k computers.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Renaming printers on a printserver?

    Using the Printer wizard to attach a NETWORK printer.

    To type in a name, you need to be in the pane with the "Browse" results, select the printer and at the top is a 'First guess" for a name. Just change it here before proceeding.


    You can edit the name by right cliking the printer name in the "Printers" pane, and selecting "Properties".
    On the 'General' tab the name will appear in the top of the pane. Change the name to what ever you want it to be. This MUST be done from the printserver.

    NOTE: if you are on a network, this name change may affect the other computers that are linking to it.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •