Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Dumb PrintScreen Question (XP SP2)

    Is there a way of taking a screen print without using the PrtScrn key using just native Windows XP features? I have a User on sick leave who's using an ancient laptop that I've suggested we replace when he returns to work in March. In the meantime, he's working from home and is preparing documents that need him to be able to insert screen-prints. When he tries to Alt+PrtScrn at the moment, when he pastes the contents of the clipboard, what he gets is whatever text he copied previously.

    From the age and infirmity of the machine, I've made the assumption that the PrtScrn key isn't working and I'd like to offer an alternative method, if one exists. I'm not aware of a Windows Key combination that replicates the function, (after all, why create a keyboard shortcut for a keyboard shortcut)? The limitations are that the corporate desktop is locked down such that installation of third-party software is not allowed and there's no access to the registry to possibly re-map the key to an unused one that's working.

    Is this an impossible task, or am I missing something stupidly obvious? <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>

    Thanks in advance.
    Regards,

    Steve

    "A good friend will help you move; a really good friend will help you move a body"

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Dumb PrintScreen Question (XP SP2)

    I don't think there is a solution - a good example of locking down a PC too far!

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Dumb PrintScreen Question (XP SP2)

    I wonder about some of the third-party clipboard software products, Steve? Many are not free however, such as FastStone Screen Capture which I have used for some time. I've never changed any of its hot keys and I'm afraid to try for fear of screwing mine up. BUT, when I open that screen (see attachment) it "seems" perfectly willing to let me change any of the hot keys. Of course, were I to try to use something other than print screen, it might yield an error, but I'm hesitant to try on my "production" machine.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Dumb PrintScreen Question (XP SP2)

    Steve wrote
    <hr>corporate desktop is locked down such that installation of third-party software is not allowed<hr>
    so installing FastStone is not an option...

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Dumb PrintScreen Question (XP SP2)

    Oops, I missed that phrase. Sorry Steve!

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dumb PrintScreen Question (XP SP2)

    Thanks for your replies, chaps. I had thought we wouldn't be able to do anything with the machine as it stands. What I am going to do is top ship him an external keyboard in the hope that it is purely a laptop keyboard malfunction. If it works, that should keep him going until he's back in the office and we can replace the laptop.

    Thanks again.
    Regards,

    Steve

    "A good friend will help you move; a really good friend will help you move a body"

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dumb PrintScreen Question (XP SP2)

    If there is a possibility of using VBA from an Office app, the following might be worth a whirl:

    To capture the screen
    <code>
    Option Explicit

    Private Declare Sub keybd_event Lib "user32" (ByVal bVk As Byte, ByVal _
    bScan As Byte, ByVal dwFlags As Long, ByVal dwExtraInfo As Long)

    Private Const VK_SNAPSHOT = &H2C

    Sub PrintScreen()
    keybd_event VK_SNAPSHOT, 1, 0, 0
    End Sub
    </code>
    To capture the active window
    <code>
    Option Explicit

    Private Declare Sub keybd_event Lib "user32" (ByVal bVk As Byte, ByVal _
    bScan As Byte, ByVal dwFlags As Long, ByVal dwExtraInfo As Long)

    Private Const KEYEVENTF_KEYUP = &H2
    Private Const VK_SNAPSHOT = &H2C
    Private Const VK_MENU = &H12

    Sub AltPrintScreen()
    keybd_event VK_MENU, 0, 0, 0
    keybd_event VK_SNAPSHOT, 0, 0, 0
    keybd_event VK_SNAPSHOT, 0, KEYEVENTF_KEYUP, 0
    keybd_event VK_MENU, 0, KEYEVENTF_KEYUP, 0
    End Sub
    </code>

    Taken from How to do a screen capture using VBA - a shortened version of How To Copy the Screen or Active Window to the Clipboard from Visual Basic

    Alan

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dumb PrintScreen Question (XP SP2)

    Excellent stuff, Alan. I'll take a copy and keep that handy.

    Thanks very much.
    Regards,

    Steve

    "A good friend will help you move; a really good friend will help you move a body"

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Dumb PrintScreen Question (XP SP2)

    That's a nice solution for taking screenshots within an Office application - in most of them you can even assign the macro to a custom keyboard shortcut. But it's a bit awkward to take screenshots of other applications; you can reduce the size of (say) the Word window so that the other application is fully visible, but that other application can't have the focus...

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dumb PrintScreen Question (XP SP2)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by AlanMiller on 19-Feb-09 10:12. )</P>Must confess, I didn't think about switching focus to another window.

    That being the case, the portable Faststone app mentioned by AL, or something like WinSnap - portable, <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15>ware, 165KB - might be the (only) answer.

    Alan

    Correction - v. 1.1.10 is still (conditional) freeware and available at http://download.freewarefiles.com/fi...nap_1.1.10.exe

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dumb PrintScreen Question (XP SP2)

    Just had a phone call from my User. The external keyboard arrived a couple of hours ago and the Print-Screen function now works as it should. This confirms the problem with the laptop keyboard, so we'll go ahead with the replacement when he's back in the office.

    Thanks to all those who replied.
    Regards,

    Steve

    "A good friend will help you move; a really good friend will help you move a body"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •