Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Install/update problem (3.5 SP1)

    I have I believe version 3.5 installed. Windows update gives the update as not being installed.
    I downloaded and installed from the file dotnetfx35.exe a file 242,743,276 bytes.
    After the last attempt at running the file I was greeted with the attached dialog box.
    Why does Windows Update not recognise the installation?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Install/update problem (3.5 SP1)

    I don't understand. The dialog says the installation is complete. Are you saying that if you follow the link to Windows Update, it shows the update as not being installed? Have you tried rebooting your computer?
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install/update problem (3.5 SP1)

    Exactly, Windows Update still wants to download the file again.
    Yes I have rebooted, the update was applied exactly a week ago.
    Should you think that this post should have been made in the XP forum?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Install/update problem (3.5 SP1)

    And what happens if you allow it to try installing again? Does it just take you through the same routine?
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install/update problem (3.5 SP1)

    I have tried that, the install completes successfully with the same dialog box on completion

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Install/update problem (3.5 SP1)

    Then there's some part of it that won't install. I've seen the problem with Win XP when Windows kept insisting the service pack for that was installed successfully even though it wasn't. I would highly recommend you check in with Microsoft on this to be sure your machine and setup meet all the requirements for 3.5 SP1. I finally got help on the service pack issue I had, and it was fairly simple to correct. Naturally, I haven't a clue now what I did and I don't even use that laptop any more. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install/update problem (3.5 SP1)

    Thank you for your interest, the problem has not caused any malfunction of the system. I have decided to wait until the end of the month, and download the file again (I only get 2G a month) and then evaluate. I do not even know what .Net is for excepting that it is a language. I certainly do not use it as an interface, if it is used for IE7 or other I do not know. Would there be any problem in completely uninstalling the program and starting again?

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Install/update problem (3.5 SP1)

    Woody mentions here that the update is being pushed to some PCs that don't even have .Net Framework .3.5. You could go to Microsoft Update and tell it not to remind you of this updste again. You can always go back later and unhide it if you wish.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install/update problem (3.5 SP1)

    Thanks Hans, as I stated in the last post I do not know what it does or why I have I have got the program. If I have capacity at the end of the month I will let the install go once again. If that is unsuccessful I will follow you advice. The Woody's article is interesting.
    Does having .Net installed assist the O/S or IE7 or is it just like another program?

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Install/update problem (3.5 SP1)

    Microsoft has a series of programming languages collectively called .Net. To run a program written in one of those languages, you need to install the .Net Framework: the runtime component of .Net.

    When you install any such program, you'll be prompted to get the .Net Framework, and the .Net Framework is also offered as an optional install by Microsoft Update.

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I do not understand why, I ran live update (being the end of the month) the whole process took a few minutes and it now appears as though the update has been installed.
    I have run live update since and there are no updates to be installed.
    Thanks for the help once again.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='E_OGRADY' post='762335' date='27-Feb-2009 17:04']I have run live update since and there are no updates to be installed.[/quote]

    Microsoft changes the detection mechanism and rules for updates when they find situations such as yours that are reported as happening frequently. This seems to happen with major updates such as service packs. That is why I usually download the complete service pack from Microsoft Download Center. Often, it is larger than the download from Windows/Microsoft Update but work better.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •