Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a problem. Every time I open a table in design view and try to edit the indexes I get an error.

    "The table is already opened by another user..." and then it opens a form based on the table design. I've run Compact and Repair, looked for hidden instances of Access in Task Manager (Applications and Processes), but neither appear when Access is not running.

    This is a single-user, non-split database. Now, if I open any database or create a new one and try to edit table indexes I get the same error. Any help is appreciated.


    New site is awesome so far!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    It's very strange that you get this error in any database. Have you tried rebooting your PC?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yeah, I've rebooted several times with no luck.

    Here's the scarey part, I copied one of the databases from my laptop to a backup pc, opened the the db on the backup pc, opened the table and tried to change the index. I GOT THE SAME ERROR. This tells me it's abviously not a problem with a rogue Access process running in the background? On the other machine, after unsuccessfully opening an existing db from the laptop, I created a new database, created a table, saved it, and then I was able to edit indexes. Could the Access program install be corrupted?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    > Could the Access program install be corrupted?

    It looks like it! You might try completely uninstalling Access (or Office as a whole), then reinstalling it.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    Does it only happen on the one table? If so that table may be corrupt.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    [quote name='jmnees' post='760980' date='24-Feb-09 17:34']...Now, if I open any database or create a new one and try to edit table indexes I get the same error...[/quote]
    So the problem isn't limited to one table or even to one database!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •