Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Member Search

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington, USA
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    How do I narrow down a member search by location? I'm looking for my son's user name to add him to my friends list. I don't recall which name he used, but I'm sure I'll recognize it when I see it.

    I suppose the simple answer is to ask him when I next see him, but I never seem to remember until I'm logged on here, and he's unavailable by phone. I was hoping to narrow the search results to Washington State, and browse through the members listed to find him.

    Thanks,
    Samantha

    Everything in excess! To enjoy the flavor of life, take big bites. Moderation is for monks!
    Robert A. Heinlein - Time Enough for Love

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    I'm sorry, the new software has more options to search posts, but far fewer to search for members. Location is not among the items you can search for.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington, USA
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='761501' date='25-Feb-09 09:05']Location is not among the items you can search for.[/quote]
    I was afraid that might be the case, but was hoping that a member location search might be one of the planned upgrades for a later date.
    Samantha

    Everything in excess! To enjoy the flavor of life, take big bites. Moderation is for monks!
    Robert A. Heinlein - Time Enough for Love

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    I don't know if that is possible, but if so we will certainly add it.

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='761507' date='25-Feb-09 17:19']I don't know if that is possible, but if so we will certainly add it.[/quote]
    If and when that feature is added, would it be possible to distinguish between Wales UK and New South Wales accross the pond? I was looking at the stats in the old lounge a few weeks back and there were more NSW members listed under Wales than Welsh.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up

    Is the Friends option available now, if not how soon can it be expected?

    I also can't find the Spell check Icon. Just when I had using the Lounge down pat, now I'm as lost as a woman in a men's only club.


    Thanks,


    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    When viewing a thread, there's a little dropdown arrow to the right of the usernames in the left hand column.
    One of the options is to add the user to your friends. It depends on that user's setting whether the user will be added immediately or whether he/she will have to approve it first.

    The spell check icon is the button above the reply area. It uses the built-in spell checker in Firefox and Chrome. In Internet Explorer you'd have to install an add-in.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='761582' date='25-Feb-09 13:36']In Internet Explorer you'd have to install an add-in.[/quote]

    No, IE will show the Spell Check Icon in the "Full Edit" mode, but NOT the "Quick Edit"

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='761700' date='25-Feb-09 20:41']No, IE will show the Spell Check Icon in the "Full Edit" mode, but NOT the "Quick Edit"[/quote]

    Thanks for the good information. I have more questions.

    1. Is there or will there be a button for printing an individual post, not the whole thread?

    2. What's the difference between Reply and Add Reply. Reply adds the quote of the original post, perhaps Add Reply doesn't. Am I correct, if not, please correct me.

    Thanks,

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    1. No, there is no option to print individual posts within a thread, and I don't think we'll add one.

    2. Correct: the ADD REPLY button doesn't quote any of the posts in the thread. Moreover, the Reply button lets you reply to a specific post in a thread, while ADD REPLY creates a reply to the thread in general.

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='761861' date='26-Feb-09 16:37'][/quote]
    I still have not worked out what the quote button is for?

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    [quote name='VegasNath' post='761871' date='26-Feb-09 09:07']I still have not worked out what the quote button is for?[/quote]

    I think that it SHOULD be turning OFF and ON the "Quote" in the reply, but does NOT seem to be working.

    I have been know to be wrong many times in the past.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    If you want to include quotes from several posts (in the same thread) in your reply, click the "+Quote" button for each post that you want to quote. The buttons that you click will turn maroon and change to "-Quote". Then click "ADD REPLY" at the bottom of the thread.

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveA' post='761873 View Post
    If you want to include quotes from several posts (in the same thread) in your reply, click the "+Quote" button for each post that you want to quote. The buttons that you click will turn maroon and change to "-Quote". Then click "ADD REPLY" at the bottom of the thread.
    Thanks Hans, I understand (as you see here). But logically, it's the wrong way around?? In my head anyway!! The logic to me is that they would all be set to default "-Quote" and if you want to use specific quotes then you switch it to "+Quote" ????

    Off topic, but still Lounge matters....

    When Dave and Hans replied to this thread, I was busy viewing the day's unread posts in Lounge matters, using the view next oldest switch. When I got to the poll, further down in the list, i knew that that was the last thread with unread post's, so I switched back to Lounge matters. This thread was telling me that there were no new posts. I knew there were as I had seen the [tiny] very annoying [/tiny] email alerts. I refreshed and still no change. This may or may not be a problem?

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    The "+Quote" / "-Quote" button displays the action it will perform: add or remove a quote, not the current "state" of the quote.

    There appears to be a slight problem with topics being displayed as read (or not).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •