Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As a recent convert to Firefox I have been running with no add-ons. With the migration to the new Lounge's software, the need for a good spell checker has risen. With input from Tony, I was able to start the search. I have found an appropriate add-on and now have it in place.
    However, my first choice was to try and add the Microsoft Office 2007 spell checker to Firefox. So, my questions to you astute Firefox users are twofold... 1) have you done it and 2) if so, how did you accomplish it?
    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I would hardly call myself an astute Firefox user, but for me it has a spell checker built in.
    I haven't installed one myself.
    As a consequence, there is no spell check button above the text area...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (3.8 KB, 0 views)

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Dopje' post='761665' date='25-Feb-09 19:17']I would hardly call myself an astute Firefox user, but for me it has a spell checker built in.
    I haven't installed one myself.
    As a consequence, there is no spell check button above the text area...[/quote]

    Welcome to The Lounge and thanks for your reply!

    May I ask what version of Firefox you are running? I'm running 3.0.6 and no spell checker was included, thus the reason to seek out the add-on.

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, I'm not exactly new here

    Dopje is HansV's test user. HansV usually browses with IE7, and Dopje tests things in Firefox 3.0.6.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (17.7 KB, 0 views)

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='Bob Archell' post='761670' date='25-Feb-09 16:29']May I ask what version of Firefox you are running? I'm running 3.0.6 and no spell checker was included, thus the reason to seek out the add-on.[/quote]

    Check here: Tools > Options > Advanced tab, General "sub-tab", Browsing section: "Check my spelling as I type"

    Edit: Or, in pictures:

    [attachment=82403:Fx3_CheckSpelling.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Bob

    I am also using Firefox (3.0.6) and have a built in spell checker.
    Note that it does not appear to check when typing in "search" boxes but does when typing in "comment" input boxes such as the one I'm in as I type this message.
    This makes sense to me as the spell checker doesn't know the context of the search.
    Perhaps your experience has been inputting text in an area not appropriate for spell checking.

    Cheers
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Dopje' post='761677' date='25-Feb-09 19:41']Thanks, I'm not exactly new here

    Dopje is HansV's test user. HansV usually browses with IE7, and Dopje tests things in Firefox 3.0.6.[/quote]

    No fair hiding behind a pseudonym
    Regards,
    Bob

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    As an Admin, I sometimes need to test how (or whether) something works for a Lounger who doesn't have special privileges...

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='761682' date='25-Feb-09 19:47']Check here: Tools > Options > Advanced tab, General "sub-tab", Browsing section: "Check my spelling as I type"[/quote]
    I did set that switch when I installed Firefox several weeks ago. It was only when the new Lounge came up and I was typing away when I noticed spelling errors. They were not underlined in red and there was no indication that a spell checker was behind the scene. That's why I installed the add-on. I'll retest by uninstalling the add-on to see what happens.

    Thanks for the comment.
    Regards,
    Bob

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='KenK' post='761690' date='25-Feb-09 19:59']Perhaps your experience has been inputting text in an area not appropriate for spell checking.[/quote]
    Hi Ken,
    It was while composing an original message in The Lounge that I noticed that there were spelling errors. As mentioned to Jefferson, I'm going to uninstall the add-on and retry the process.

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='761720' date='25-Feb-09 22:51']As an Admin, I sometimes need to test how (or whether) something works for a Lounger who doesn't have special privileges...[/quote]
    Dopje? Why not its Russian equivalent? полная крышка флакона
    Now as an Admin, you should put some code behind the scene to add postings of HansV and Dopje to increase your standing in the Lounge. Now that would really distance you from the rank-n-file!
    Regards,
    Bob

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Uninstalled the add-on spell checker and there is nothing behind the scene to check for errors. Not while replying to a message nor compiling a new message.

    Will go back and add the Mozilla provided spell checker.
    Regards,
    Bob

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='Bob Archell' post='761737' date='25-Feb-09 20:27']Uninstalled the add-on spell checker and there is nothing behind the scene to check for errors. Not while replying to a message nor compiling a new message.

    Will go back and add the Mozilla provided spell checker.[/quote]
    I am using the "Standard" editor. Are you by any chance using the "Rich Text" editor? This selection is made at the bottom of the list of Board Options in your control panel: http://www.wopr.com/index.php?act=UserCP&CODE=04.

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='761751' date='26-Feb-09 02:28']I am using the "Standard" editor. Are you by any chance using the "Rich Text" editor? This selection is made at the bottom of the list of Board Options in your control panel: http://www.wopr.com/index.php?act=UserCP&CODE=04.[/quote]
    YUP, using the Standard Editor.
    Regards,
    Bob

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='761751' date='26-Feb-09 02:28']I am using the "Standard" editor. Are you by any chance using the "Rich Text" editor? This selection is made at the bottom of the list of Board Options in your control panel: http://www.wopr.com/index.php?act=UserCP&CODE=04.[/quote]
    Have now got the spell checker working. What I overlooked was the icon at the top of the Firefox menu:
    [attachment=82414:SpellChecker3.gif]

    I was looking for the immediate spell checking indicator... red underline, and it wasn't there. Pressing the menu item cleared the mystery
    [attachment=82415:SpellChecker4.gif]

    OK, now back to other things that are MY fault!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards,
    Bob

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •