Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Edited by HansV to remove 3 duplicates of screenshots

    [attachment=82650:homepage1.gif]
    [attachment=82652:homepage2.gif]

    I am using Windows XP service pack 3 and Internet Explorer 7. I hope I have attached the two screengrabs successfully - I selected them and clicked ' Upload '.

    I always had my opening page ( after boot up ) as my desktop. I recently downloaded the latest version of Adobe Reader ( Adobe Reader 9 ) and now my opening page is my desktop with an Explorer type page superimposed in front of the desktop showing the Adobe folder list opened out – please see screengrab ' homepage1.gif ' attached.
    I opened Tools in my browser ( IE7 ) > Internet Options > General tab. The selected homepage is my ISP – please see screengrab ' homepage 2 ' attached, which I think must have always been the same as I haven't looked at it before.
    Could you please help me to prevent this Explorer page opening with my desktop ?
    I am a novice, so I would appreciate simple language for instructions. Thank you.
    Dave Dale.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    First, you are mixing apples with oranges. Your "Homepage" is where you go when you first open Internet Explorer. When you boot up your computer that is your "Desktop".

    That said, my first suggestion would be to remove the new installation of Adobe Reader using Add/Remove Programs in your Control Panel and then try reinstalling it.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    816
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='763666' date='05-Mar-2009 12:25']First, you are mixing apples with oranges. Your "Homepage" is where you go when you first open Internet Explorer. When you boot up your computer that is your "Desktop".[/quote]

    Doc,
    I believe davedale has his fruit correct. He has his desktop set as his homepage

    Control Panel
    Display
    Desktop tab
    Customize Desktop... button
    Web Tab
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I don't use Adobe Reader any more but Foxit Reader.

    However, I would go into the Adobe setup\options and look for a setting that says run at start up.

    DOC is right when he says that the homepage is the starting point when IE is started, so unless there is a setting that specifies Adobe to run, then the desktop should appear without any other page showing.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='mbarron' post='763684' date='05-Mar-2009 14:25']Doc,
    I believe davedale has his fruit correct. He has his desktop set as his homepage

    Control Panel
    Display
    Desktop tab
    Customize Desktop... button
    Web Tab[/quote]

    Mike,

    By mixing apples with oranges I meant that he seems to be confusing Internet Explorer with Windows Explorer.

    But I believe that you are mistaken when you say that he has his Homepage set as his desktop. If you look at the second screen shot, you will see that his Homepage is, as he says, his ISP.

    My original advice still stands. Try removing Adobe Reader and reinstalling it.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='davedale' post='763586' date='05-Mar-2009 10:12']I always had my opening page ( after boot up ) as my desktop. I recently downloaded the latest version of Adobe Reader ( Adobe Reader 9 ) and now my opening page is my desktop with an Explorer type page superimposed in front of the desktop showing the Adobe folder list opened out – please see screengrab ' homepage1.gif ' attached.
    I opened Tools in my browser ( IE7 ) > Internet Options > General tab. The selected homepage is my ISP – please see screengrab ' homepage 2 ' attached, which I think must have always been the same as I haven't looked at it before.
    Could you please help me to prevent this Explorer page opening with my desktop ?
    I am a novice, so I would appreciate simple language for instructions. Thank you.
    Dave Dale.[/quote]

    I just looked closely at your first screenshot and noticed that the window that is open is titled Acrobat.com and that there are 2 entries in your folder tree for Acrobat.com. Can you explain how they got there and what they are for ??? I suspect that your problem has something to do with these entries. If there is an option to remove these items in Add/Remove programs I would attempt to remove them first.

    Can you tell us what the contents of these two folders might be ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your replies. (HansV - apologies for the duplicate screenshots - I'll try not to do that again ). I haven't tried to uninstal all the Adobe and associated programs yet, but I did uninstal Adobe 9 and reinstalled it before I came onto this forum with my question. The problem recurred.

    [quote name='DocWatson' post='763723' date='05-Mar-2009 20:22']I just looked closely at your first screenshot and noticed that the window that is open is titled Acrobat.com and that there are 2 entries in your folder tree for Acrobat.com. Can you explain how they got there and what they are for ??? I suspect that your problem has something to do with these entries. If there is an option to remove these items in Add/Remove programs I would attempt to remove them first.

    Can you tell us what the contents of these two folders might be ??[/quote]

    I have tried to uninstal Adobe.com from the Add/Remove program list but it won't remove the program when I click the Remove button. Instead the Add/Remove window freezes and I can't close it. Have to restart the computer to get rid of it.
    I have made screenshots of the folder tree expanded in the rogue window ( homepage3.gif ) and the Add/Remove programs window showing the relevant programs ( homepage4.gif ). I hope I attach them correctly this time. Any ideas before I remove all the Adobe programs and start again - and how to remove Adobe.com ? Thank you.
    Dave Dale.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='davedale' post='763925' date='06-Mar-2009 12:26']Thanks for your replies. (HansV - apologies for the duplicate screenshots - I'll try not to do that again ). I haven't tried to uninstal all the Adobe and associated programs yet, but I did uninstal Adobe 9 and reinstalled it before I came onto this forum with my question. The problem recurred.

    I have tried to uninstal Adobe.com from the Add/Remove program list but it won't remove the program when I click the Remove button. Instead the Add/Remove window freezes and I can't close it. Have to restart the computer to get rid of it.

    Dave Dale.[/quote]

    Dave,
    This seems to be a known problem, and as yet Adobe has not come up with a fix. There is a workaround which seems to work for some. Have a look here, here, and this Adobe Knowledge base article. Read the threads and the KB article completely. The KB article seems to hold the most promise.

    If you can't remove Acrobat.com from Add/Remove Progarms, you might want to try the Revo Uninstaller.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks John - I'll try these things and get back to the forum when done.
    Dave Dale.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hullo John,

    [quote name='Rebel' post='763930' date='06-Mar-2009 17:56']Dave,
    This seems to be a known problem, and as yet Adobe has not come up with a fix. There is a workaround which seems to work for some. Have a look here, here, and this Adobe Knowledge base article. Read the threads and the KB article completely. The KB article seems to hold the most promise.

    If you can't remove Acrobat.com from Add/Remove Progarms, you might want to try the Revo Uninstaller.[/quote]

    Thank you so much for your help. It was some comfort to go to the forums for which you provided the links and the Adobe Knowledge Base ( I didn't know these existed ) and to see that there are numerous other sufferers from the problem. Some are very angry - there is talk of ' hijacking my computer ' and ' disgrace ' etc.
    Everything seemed to point to the Acrobat.com and the Adobe AIR folders ( files ? ) being the culprits, and to remove them using Add / Remove, but as you know I can't do this. I downloaded the Revo Uninstaller program and tried to uninstal these two but, to my despair, the uninstal process stalled just before completion for both. At least it didn't lock up the computer as did Add / Remove. I went back to the Knowledge Base and chose :

    Solution 4: Delete the AIR application folder.
    Navigate to C:\Program Files\Adobe\.
    Locate the Acrobat.com folder.
    Delete the Acrobat.com folder.
    Note: This step will not impact your Reader install. If later, you'd like to reinstall the Acrobat.com AIR application, then you can download it from Adobe.com to regain that functionality with Acrobat.com.

    I did this for both Acrobat.com and Adobe AIR folders and IT WORKED ! I hope this is of some help to anyone else on this forum who can't uninstal or delete these files using Add / Remove or Revo.
    A minor ( I hope ) problem is that these two files still appear in my Add / Remove list and the list of programs in Revo. I still can't get rid of them - they still lock up the computer in Add / Remove. Do I need to do anything ?
    I have deleted them in the Programs List from Start, just leaving Adobe Reader 9 and Adobe Activeshare. Although I use Foxit Reader now as my default PDF reader, is there any way to obtain or send myself a PDF file to see if Adobe 9 still works ?

    Apologies for posting so many questions. I am very grateful for your help. You are in Ontario and I am in London, UK. Isn't the internet amazing ?. Thanks again.
    Dave Dale.

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='davedale' post='764369' date='09-Mar-2009 10:01'][/quote]

    Dave,
    Using Revo, right click on the offending entries and select "Remove Entry". As for testing Adobe Reader, I've attached a very small pdf file.[attachment=82747:PDF_test.pdf]
    Attached Files Attached Files
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Dave,
    Using Revo, right click on the offending entries and select "Remove Entry". As for testing Adobe Reader, I've attached a very small pdf file.[attachment=82747:PDF_test.pdf]
    [/quote]

    John,

    My default PDF reader is Foxit so I saved your test file to the desktop, opened Adobe Reader 9 and then opened your file OK.
    I removed the two Adobe files in Revo using ' Remove Entry ' and they have gone from Add / Remove progs. also ! I will be eternally grateful for your help and advice. It's a pity that I will never achieve the necessary expertise to enable me to help anyone else.
    Dave Dale.

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='davedale' post='764448' date='09-Mar-2009 15:49'][/quote]

    Glad it worked out and thanks for posting back.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •