Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: KVM switch

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have two laptops now for different jobs and my home desktop with a widescreen monitor. I prefer the big screen so I thought a KVM switch would be a good solution for me rather than disconnecting the monitor all the time when I switch laptops. It slowed performance down on all my computers though. It's like there is a 3 second delay for everything. Is this usual? I don't know any one who has used KVM.
    Is there a better solution for my problem of multiple pc's than the KVM?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='Laura9of9' post='763672' date='05-Mar-2009 11:50'][/quote]

    Do you mean a three second delay when switching from system to system? Or once you are on a system there is a delay in refreshing the screen?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a KVM switch, controlling three systems. It is a four port. It does audio as well, I would not be without it. My reason was space, one monitor, one keyboard, one mouse, one set of speakers. Transfer is instantaneous.
    The one mistake I made was that the transfer is generally 2 quick taps on the scroll lock key, the keyboard I purchased does not have one. I reassigned the ctrl key. More details if you require.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I keep doing something wrong in trying to reply.
    It's a delay over all. Even in spreadsheets, it hesitates moving from one cell to another. Just enough to bug me. It's like the difference between dial-up and dsl. It's not exclusive to one application. It does the same with e-mail, web, etc.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='Laura9of9' post='763756' date='05-Mar-2009 15:46'][/quote]

    I've not seen a slowdown like you describe. Have you checked all the hardware connections? Have you re-booted all the machines?

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I am running a KVM between two boxes and do NOT see any changes.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •