New Lounger
    newcastle-under-lyme, Staffordshire, England
    Thanks
    Excuse me if I get things wrong, I'm a real novice and this is the first time I've tried to post a question. I have some sort of virus (antispywarebot?) spybot calls it, that once spybot has supposedly dealt with it turns up with: startup monitor says antispywarebot has registered the executable etc to run in system startup. I am unable to say no and it won't go away. I am experiencing fake antispyware attacks regularly telling me to download a scan to cure infection. I have run Norton, spybot S and D, and Adaware but can't get rid. Help!

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks
    Welcome to the Lounge!

AntiSpywareBot is a fake security program, its sole purpose it to try to get you to shell out money.

Recently, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware has gained a good reputation in removing fake security programs.

Note: if you have Norton Anti-Virus, I recommend turning off Norton LiveProtect temporarily while running a scan with MalwareBytes Ant--Malware. Don't forget to turn it [s]off[/s] ON immediately afterwards!

If you prefer to remove it manually, see for example Remove AntispywareBot, removal instructions.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    [quote name='HansV' post='763840' date='06-Mar-2009 06:13']Note: if you have Norton Anti-Virus, I recommend turning off Norton LiveProtect temporarily while running a scan with MalwareBytes Ant--Malware.
    Don't forget to turn it off immediately afterwards![/quote]I'm pretty sure HansV meant to turn it ON immediately afterwards
    Rick Groszkiewicz
    Life is too short to drink bad wine (or bad coffee!)

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks
    [quote name='rgrosz' post='764055' date='07-Mar-2009 16:21']I'm pretty sure HansV meant to turn it ON immediately afterwards[/quote]
    Oops, of course!
    I'll correct my reply, thanks!

New Lounger
    Thanks
    [quote name='HansV' post='764061' date='07-Mar-2009 16:38']Oops, of course!
    I'll correct my reply, thanks![/quote]