Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Beddau, Mid Glamorgan, Wales
    Posts
    289
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi:

    I have recently purchased a new laptop, with Vista Home preinstslled. I have tried to install Open Office, but it only goes as far as the enclosed message then stops (screenshot attached).

    Would this be some setting within Vista that is preventing the program from installing? Any advice much appreciated.

    Tony
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards,

    Tony
    [s] [/s]
    www.SylviArtist.com

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='BilasTasol' post='764079' date='07-Mar-2009 13:19']Hi:

    I have recently purchased a new laptop, with Vista Home preinstslled. I have tried to install Open Office, but it only goes as far as the enclosed message then stops (screenshot attached).

    Would this be some setting within Vista that is preventing the program from installing? Any advice much appreciated.

    Tony[/quote]
    You probably have to install this with administrative privileges. Locate the installation file that you have saved in Windows Explorer, RIGHT click on the file, and select "Run as administrator".
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Beddau, Mid Glamorgan, Wales
    Posts
    289
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Rebel' post='764081' date='07-Mar-2009 18:30']You probably have to install this with administrative privileges. Locate the installation file that you have saved in Windows Explorer, RIGHT click on the file, and select "Run as administrator".[/quote]
    Thanks for your response, John, but yes,I did select "Run as administrator" and got the result I mentioned in my original post. Any other suggestions I could look at to get Vista to install software?

    I have also had problems with Windows Updates not working; I don't know if this is connected, or is a separate problem. (Oh, for the days of Windows XP!)

    Tony.
    Regards,

    Tony
    [s] [/s]
    www.SylviArtist.com

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='BilasTasol' post='764353' date='09-Mar-2009 08:29'][/quote]

    First, you should make sure you've got Windows Installer 4.5 installed. Get it from:Download details: Windows Installer 4.5. Make sure you download the version for your system. Windows Vista is Windows6.0. If you have a 32-bit Vista you want the x86 version. If you have a 64-bit Vista you want the x64 version.

    I recommend you start another thread about Windows Update so things don't get confused here.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Beddau, Mid Glamorgan, Wales
    Posts
    289
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='BilasTasol' post='764353' date='09-Mar-2009 08:29']First, you should make sure you've got Windows Installer 4.5 installed. Get it from:Download details: Windows Installer 4.5. Make sure you download the version for your system. Windows Vista is Windows6.0. If you have a 32-bit Vista you want the x86 version. If you have a 64-bit Vista you want the x64 version.

    I recommend you start another thread about Windows Update so things don't get confused here.

    Joe[/quote]
    Joe:

    Thanks for your suggestion. I went to the link and d/Loaded 'Windows6.0-KB942288-v2-x86.msu' as suggested, but it only went as far as the attached s/shot and stopped working. So, I am no further forward with getting Vista to behave, unfortunately.

    Tony
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards,

    Tony
    [s] [/s]
    www.SylviArtist.com

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='BilasTasol' post='765012' date='12-Mar-2009 08:52'][/quote]

    If you have a "hung" install a re-boot may help. Is the inability to install a recent occurrence? Have you tried a System Restore to a time before the problem started?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Doorn, Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='BilasTasol' post='764079' date='07-Mar-2009 19:19']Hi:

    I have recently purchased a new laptop, with Vista Home preinstslled. I have tried to install Open Office, but it only goes as far as the enclosed message then stops (screenshot attached).

    Would this be some setting within Vista that is preventing the program from installing? Any advice much appreciated.

    Tony[/quote]

    Hi Tony,

    You may want to install instead the latest verion of Open Office: 3.01

    Regards, Teunis

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rural Clark County Missouri
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have found that Vista Home Premium doesn't like some of my older 'reliable' software.
    I get a message saying it is not compatable with Vista.
    I have done this with XP and others as I have updated over the years.
    Instead of running auto install I found that if I go to the folders and find the install Icon and click it I have, so far, never failed to get the program/s to install and run fine.
    I have not had to and/or used administrator rights to get the job done.
    I am a freeware junkie and got loads of programs on disks that I have kept over the years.
    I have older purchased programs and on a fixed income now don't really have the money to pay for updates so this is how I managed to work around that.
    Rick

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Have you try disabling User Account Control (UAC)? Go to Start/Run/Type msconfig/enter. Click Tools & scrolled to "Disable UAC" & click Launch. Reboot & your system will no longer ask permission to install & launch programs. I install most of my older XP programs in Vista without any problems.
    You can enable the UAC anytime but I disable mine all the time but I know what I am doing.
    Intel CoreI7 P55/ 8Gb 1600 RAM DDR3/ NV GTS 570 1Gb PCIe/ HDD X 3 = 6TB/SSD x 1 128GB/ BDRW X 2/DVDRW x 2/ Corsiar 850W PSU & running on Win10 Pro 64bit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •