Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Get rid of IE!!

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Old Forge, NY
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    IE's freeze ups are driving me nuts. I have a new HP lap top with Vista Home Prenium, I have follwed the procedure in "Technique 18" of Vista Time saving Techniques to the letter. By the way, for the new security settings to take effect I had to close then open IE otherwise they went right back to the default settings. When I try to down load Firefox I get " Your current security settings do not allow this file to be down loaded" I am running Norton security ( it's free for another month) Norton had "assured" me they are not the problem. I have tried down loading with User account control on and off - no luck. Any ideas??
    MCG

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='shadow53' post='764342' date='09-Mar-2009 07:56'][/quote]

    IE "freeze up" issues are often caused by add-ons. What add-ons do you have installed? Have you tried running IE without add-ons?

    Also, is the PC up-to-date with patches?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='shadow53' post='764342' date='09-Mar-2009 05:56']When I try to down load Firefox I get " Your current security settings do not allow this file to be down loaded"[/quote]
    Security settings are based on which of IE's "security zones" the web server is in. You could try adding Mozilla.com and Mozilla.org to your Trusted Sites list. One way to get to this list is to double-click the globe on the Status Bar (it should appear just to the left of the word Internet), then click Trusted, then click the button to add sites. This dialog may default to requiring https, but you can uncheck that.

    Does that help you get the download?

    After the download, you can clear the sites from the list. You should not need them there for ordinary use.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='shadow53' post='764342' date='09-Mar-2009 13:56']<snip> When I try to down load Firefox I get " Your current security settings do not allow this file to be down loaded <snip> Any ideas??[/quote]
    I don't know about the advices in the books, but I DO know that IE has a gazillion of settings that can be tweaked and changed to almost completely change the behaviour of the PC.

    Check for your Internet zone: On the Security tab, Custom level button, under Miscellaneous: "Launching applications and unsafe files". If this is set to Inactivate you will not be able to download .exe files. A safe setting is: Prompt (Recommended).

    Or do as Jefferson suggests, add some sites to the Trusted zone, but also check the setting I mentioned for that zone (if changed).

    But I agree with Joe also, check add-ons if any, test-run IE witout etc.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='shadow53' post='764342' date='09-Mar-2009 13:56']IE's freeze ups are driving me nuts. I have a new HP lap top with Vista Home Prenium,[/quote]

    Hei. I also had a lot of freeze up probs with IE7 and resorted to doing quite a few things ... now it seems very stable. I can't find out how to easily refer you to my topic but you should be able to find it. Maybe its of some help.
    RonH

    (How do I refer a prior topic??)
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    [quote name='RonH' post='764869' date='11-Mar-2009 18:00'](How do I refer a prior topic??)[/quote]
    If you click the post number in the upper right corner of the post, you'll get a box with the code needed to refer to it in another post. Copy the text, then close the message box and paste the text into your post.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (7.5 KB, 0 views)

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='HansV' post='764873' date='11-Mar-2009 18:09']If you click the post number in the upper right corner of the post, you'll get a box with the code needed to refer to it in another post. Copy the text, then close the message box and paste the text into your post.[/quote]

    Thanks Hans ... giving it a go!
    Ron

    Post 755075
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    [quote name='RonH' post='764887' date='11-Mar-2009 18:50']giving it a go![/quote]
    It worked!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •