New Lounger
    Thanks
    I'm a self-taught VBA person and am working on migrating our firm to Office 2007. Instead of just using "what worked" in 2003 I'm trying to create our 2007 templates using the new features but I'm now stuck on something.

We have a global autotext template in the startup directory. With Office 2007 I thought I'd create a couple global Building Blocks (footer for our letterhead, etc.) but now I can't seem to write the correct code to insert that footer.

Here's the code I'm trying - it actually works, but I receive an error so something's not quite right. I've tried a few different variations. I did try specifying the attached template but must not have had that code right - again it worked, but I received an even different error message.

With this code, the footer is inserted but the error is "Run-time error 5941. The requested member of the collection does not exist." and it hangs on the line "Set objBB..."

Thanks for any help - I truly appreciate it!!
    Julie

The footer I created is called .ftrFirmLocations
    Our category for firm building blocks is (firm)

Dim objTemplate As Template
    Dim objBB As BuildingBlock

'set template to store the building block
    Set objTemplate = ActiveDocument.AttachedTemplate

'access the building bock through the type and category
    Set objBB = objTemplate.BuildingBlockTypes(wdTypeFooters) _
    .Categories("(firm)").BuildingBlocks(".ftrFirmLoca tions")

'insert the building block into the document
    objBB.Insert Selection.Range

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Is there multiple building blocks with the same name but in different categories? If not, I would try
    Set objBB = objTemplate.BuildingBlockEntries.Item(".ftrFirmLoc ations")