Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Memo Field

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Dexter, USA
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a memo field that is being cut off on my report. I've adjusted the property on the form field to Can Grow and Can Shrink but it is still cutting the field off and not showing the complete information. It seems to be cutting off the information at 255, which would be a text field and not a memo field so I'm confused.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    A memo field will be truncated to 255 characters if you set the Format property of the field or of the text box bound to the field. The same will happen if you group by the memo field in a Totals query, if the record source of the report is a query whose Unique Values has been set to Yes, in a union query and if you concatenate the memo field with other values.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Dexter, USA
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Unfortunately, they want more then what I THINK the text field can offer them. I need to find out what my options are but they'll probably have to go to a seperate document.

    We will be offering several different freight programs. Some of the text will need to be underlined, some will be underlined and bold, they would like a blank row between paragraphs...clearly far more than a single text field can offer.

    Please let me know if you have any suggestions because I'm not sure where to begin. If everyone got the same freight terms I would just create different text boxes and format the box accordingly but it will vary from customer to customer.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    [quote name='Theresa01' post='765665' date='16-Mar-2009 19:26'][/quote]
    Which version of Access do you use? Access 2007 introduces a new field type, the rich text field. This supports formatting parts of the field differently. In Access 2003 and before, there is no support for "rich text".

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    As Hans notes, 2007 can solve your issue. If you are using 2003 or earlier, there are some third-party ActiveX controls that will do the trick - DBI Technologies is one that I am familiar with. Microsoft also had an ActiveX richt text control, but there were a number of issues with it. The other option if you want highly formatted text would be to embed a Word document in the database, but that gets pretty tricky if you want to display it on a report and have it display the way you want it to.
    Wendell

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •