Thread: Present value

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Hi all....this is my first time online since the change to the new servers and this new look....very nice and thank you to all who worked on it and made it happen.....the HELP files in Excel are pretty poor and they have been of no use in heloing em figure out how PV formula works.

Here is my question/example: at present, I have 30 staff who will get a monthly pension, at age 70. I assume they will have a normal lifespan for a male and a female, based on actuarial charts. The monthly amounts paid to each person will vary, depending on length of service etc etc. The pension plan is funded by a monthly employee payroll deduction and a monthly employer payment....right now, everyone acquires pension at the rate of 3% for each year of service. However, in the past, people acquired it at the rate of 2%/month of service and then at 2.67%/month of service. As of year 2000, everyone is the same at 3%/month of service. These differences in accumulation rate can produce different payout amounts for people, even if their length of service & age is the same, b/c the accumulation rate was 2% until 1998 and then went to 2.67% until 2000 and then went to 3%.