Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Seymour, USA
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Post

    Hello,

    I hope this is the correct forum for this question.

    Atached is a screen shot my google advanced page. It is my default home page.
    The small box still allows a complete search to be typed in but it is disconcerting and
    I wonder if there is not a bigger problem somewhere

    My computer has Windows XP Home with SP3 installed. I use IE 7 as my browser.

    Does anyone have a solution to this?

    Thanks

    raiderfan
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    What happens if you refresh the page ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Seymour, USA
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Doc,

    It remains the same.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Very strange. I can't make my Google screen duplicate that, but I guess that's a good thing.

    I assume that this is only on Google. Yes, no ??? Is the screen maximized ?? What happens if you go to Full Screen ??

    Have you contacted Google ??? I'd say look in the source code (View>Source) but I can't read that and won't assume that you can.

    That said, I'm at a loss to explain or even provide any insight here. Perhaps another Lounger with better HTML knowledge will jump in.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='raiderfan' post='766915' date='23-Mar-2009 17:58']Hi Doc,
    It remains the same.[/quote]
    I'm stumped too. I have seen anomalies with some (higher) screen resolutions and where the user has adjusted the font size (DPI) within Windows itself. Would either of these apply to your situation?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='raiderfan' post='766731' date='22-Mar-2009 16:12'][/quote]

    Have you tried emptying your TIF folder?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Seymour, USA
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello everyone,

    @Doc Watson - I tried your suggestion of going to full screen in Google and also full screen in IE but no luck.

    I looked at the source code and am happy that I don't understand it.

    No I haven't contacted Google. This just started to happen so I assumed IE had something to do with it. I certainly will give them a try.

    @ Rebel - No I haven't changed either the screen resolution or DPI. They are both at the default levels.

    @joeperez - Yes, I emptied it per your suggestion and no luck. However, I empty it on a regular basis using the disk cleanup in Microsoft.

    Thanks for your suggestions and help.

    raiderfan

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Is this behavior only on Google ???
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •