3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Hello, I am trying to make an Invoice Template.
    I have a cell in a table starting with the date. I would like to enter the date as follows:
    and when I tab away to the next cell it will show the date as:
    03/24/2009
    I don't think this would be too hard to do, but I am new at this.

I also wanted to know it there is a way whenever I type the customers name that it
    could save it in a list, so that the next time I start to type the same name it will finish
    typing it for me. Much like how Quickbooks works.

Thanks.
    Time can fix anything.....even a broken clock. - Handy Andy

Thanks
    [quote name='HandyAndy' post='767190' date='24-Mar-2009 20:17']Hello, I am trying to make an Invoice Template.
    I have a cell in a table starting with the date. I would like to enter the date as follows:
    and when I tab away to the next cell it will show the date as:
    03/24/2009
    I don't think this would be too hard to do, but I am new at this.[/quote]
    This definitely is not a built-in feature of Word and the ways you might do it (e.g., using a form control, running a macro to enter the date, or running a macro to reformat the date) are not convenient. Excel might be more suitable if you want a grid layout with self-formatting cells.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='767195' date='25-Mar-2009 00:28']This definitely is not a built-in feature of Word and the ways you might do it (e.g., using a form control, running a macro to enter the date, or running a macro to reformat the date) are not convenient. Excel might be more suitable if you want a grid layout with self-formatting cells.[/quote]

Thanks I never thought of Excel. By the way do you know what Access is good for?
    Time can fix anything.....even a broken clock. - Handy Andy

Thanks
    [quote name='HandyAndy' post='767196' date='24-Mar-2009 21:34']By the way do you know what Access is good for?[/quote]