Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Conficker worm

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tremendous amount of scuttlebutt running around the web about 4/1/2009 attack of the conficker worm. (Several good writeups on ("The Register"- UK techy site).

    I am running Malwarebytes, AVG, and Zone alarm, but can't find any specifics about whether they are looking for the conficker / Downadup worms.

    Any one know specific safeguards one should be using?

    Tom

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='tomyrush' post='767697' date='26-Mar-2009 16:04']Tremendous amount of scuttlebutt running around the web about 4/1/2009 attack of the conficker worm. (Several good writeups on ("The Register"- UK techy site).

    I am running Malwarebytes, AVG, and Zone alarm, but can't find any specifics about whether they are looking for the conficker / Downadup worms.

    Any one know specific safeguards one should be using?[/quote]
    Here's a link to the article by The Register: Final countdown to Conficker 'activation' begins.

    If your AV provider lists the variants of the Conficker worm in their database, then you should be clean. If in doubt, you can check their cleanup instructions.

    To prevent (re)infection, make sure Windows is patched up.

    Trend Micro has a dedicated fix tool for one of the most recent variants if needed: WORM_DOWNAD.KK - Description and solution (see the Solution tab).

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='tomyrush' post='767697' date='26-Mar-2009 19:04']Tremendous amount of scuttlebutt running around the web about 4/1/2009 attack of the conficker worm. (Several good writeups on ("The Register"- UK techy site).

    I am running Malwarebytes, AVG, and Zone alarm, but can't find any specifics about whether they are looking for the conficker / Downadup worms.

    Any one know specific safeguards one should be using?

    Tom[/quote]

    You can get a full safety scan from Microsoft here.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Doc

    I tried running the link both with firefox and with IE - neither would work.

    Said I was running unsupported system.

    I run xp-professional with sp-3 applied and IE-7 - the web site kept saying unsupported system

    Any ideas appreciated

    Tom

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='tomyrush' post='767720' date='26-Mar-2009 22:58']Doc

    I tried running the link both with firefox and with IE - neither would work.

    Said I was running unsupported system.

    I run xp-professional with sp-3 applied and IE-7 - the web site kept saying unsupported system

    Any ideas appreciated

    Tom[/quote]
    I don't know what would be preventing you from getting the scan. I'm assuming that you can get to the web page, but that the link won't let you get the scan. Here's the page, if that's that problem. http://onecare.live.com/site/en-us/default.htm.

    The only other thing I can think of would be Windows Genuine Advantage.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='767722' date='27-Mar-2009 00:16'][/quote]
    I tried it out just now and it appeared to work OK.
    The only thing it asked for, was to allow an ActiveX to be installed first. After I OKd that it was\is running right now.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='tomyrush' post='767720' date='27-Mar-2009 10:58']Doc

    I tried running the link both with firefox and with IE - neither would work.

    Said I was running unsupported system.

    I run xp-professional with sp-3 applied and IE-7 - the web site kept saying unsupported system

    Any ideas appreciated

    Tom[/quote]

    It might help to check that IE is the default browser if you were just running it but not as the default. (That was a wild guess, but you have to watch the installation carefully, as I found a batch of conditions I had to meet.) I tried the Vista beta, and found I had to go through a number of Q & As to get it, and I think at least one of those was repeated. I had to click the checkbox for the agreement, I had to suppress popup blockers, permit the installation of DirectX, agree to accept them in future from Microsoft (I think), and I was worried about getting a false positive from my Norton 360 anti-phishing filter (no problem), and so on. The download itself is fairly large, and when all was in readiness it hit me with the news that running it might take several hours. There is nothing wrong in that, but mine is a beta (for Vista) and I want to do it in the daytime so I can check on it once in a while. Since I do have a number of small but nagging problems that I can't solve, I look forward to seeing if this will help. Mind you, they aren't 'Safety' problems, so I may be out of luck. It is certainly the right price if it works. Good luck in your efforts.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    For the many Loungers who use AVAST, the morning popup came with a message today. It looks like Avast is ready.

    http://www.avast.com/eng/about-april-1st.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •