Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: XP Changes

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I have Windows XP media center. Why is it that things change on there for no reason from time to time. For example one day I inserted a Blank CD in my E drive an when right clicking to move something there, the drive doesnt even show in the display box. It worked fine the previous day. Anyone know anything about this type of behavior? It would be much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='schonman' post='767763' date='27-Mar-2009 10:46']I have Windows XP media center. Why is it that things change on there for no reason from time to time. For example one day I inserted a Blank CD in my E drive an when right clicking to move something there, the drive doesnt even show in the display box. It worked fine the previous day. Anyone know anything about this type of behavior? It would be much appreciated.[/quote]
    Welcome to Woody's Lounge.

    Could you be a bit more clear about what you are referring to when you say "the display box" ?? If you insert a CD and wait, XP should display a window with options, unless you have previously selected an action and checked the "Always use this option" box in that window.

    Where is the drive not showing up ?? In My Computer or Windows Explorer ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='767766' date='27-Mar-2009 10:55']Welcome to Woody's Lounge.

    Could you be a bit more clear about what you are referring to when you say "the display box" ?? If you insert a CD and wait, XP should display a window with options, unless you have previously selected an action and checked the "Always use this option" box in that window.

    Where is the drive not showing up ?? In My Computer or Windows Explorer ??[/quote]
    I have an external hard drive which I like to back up from time to time by inserting a blank CD in the "E" drive slot. If I insert a blank CD and then go to the "G" drive to send a folder to "E"and right click and go to the option "send to" , the blank CD in the "E" drive slot does not show as being there. Now backing up a folder is done by copying the folder and going into "My computer" and writing file to the blank CD. It was easier to use the "send to" option by right clicking. Thank for your reply.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='schonman' post='767779' date='27-Mar-2009 11:36']I have an external hard drive which I like to back up from time to time by inserting a blank CD in the "E" drive slot. If I insert a blank CD and then go to the "G" drive to send a folder to "E"and right click and go to the option "send to" , the blank CD in the "E" drive slot does not show as being there. Now backing up a folder is done by copying the folder and going into "My computer" and writing file to the blank CD. It was easier to use the "send to" option by right clicking. Thank for your reply.[/quote]
    Drive shows in my computer but if you right click and go to send to function if a blank cd is in the drive it soes not show as being there

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,517
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    [quote name='schonman' post='767782' date='27-Mar-2009 10:45'][/quote]

    Are you sure you are waiting long enough for XP to detect the CD in the drive?

    Joe

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='schonman' post='767782' date='27-Mar-2009 11:45']Drive shows in my computer but if you right click and go to send to function if a blank cd is in the drive it soes not show as being there[/quote]

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='schonman' post='767782' date='27-Mar-2009 11:45']Drive shows in my computer but if you right click and go to send to function if a blank cd is in the drive it soes not show as being there[/quote]
    The drive or the CD ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='767800' date='27-Mar-2009 13:10']The drive or the CD ??[/quote]
    Both do not show in the box

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,517
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    [quote name='schonman' post='767791' date='27-Mar-2009 11:32'][/quote]

    Have you applied How to disable the Autorun functionality in Windows and disabled Autorun?

    Joe

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='schonman' post='767803' date='27-Mar-2009 13:34']Both do not show in the box[/quote]

    Does the drive show up when there is no CD in it ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='767877' date='27-Mar-2009 18:12']Does the drive show up when there is no CD in it ??[/quote]
    Somehow windows changed a little. 2 things actually changed. One thing is the not recognizing of a CD when load a blank CD in "E" slot only when you right click and open the box and the other item is when I go to My Computer and click on the icon for example the "c" drive it opens to a search results window as opposed to opening the contents of the drive. It never used to do this. It usually opened to the contents of the drive. Now I have to right click on the drive and go to the open option. I think one of the updates caused this this to happen. Any feedback would be welcomed and thanks for your help

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='schonman' post='767951' date='28-Mar-2009 08:44']Somehow windows changed a little. 2 things actually changed. One thing is the not recognizing of a CD when load a blank CD in "E" slot only when you right click and open the box and the other item is when I go to My Computer and click on the icon for example the "c" drive it opens to a search results window as opposed to opening the contents of the drive. It never used to do this. It usually opened to the contents of the drive. Now I have to right click on the drive and go to the open option. I think one of the updates caused this this to happen. Any feedback would be welcomed and thanks for your help[/quote]

    You didn't answer my question. Remote troubleshooting is difficult enough, so please stay on topic.

    If you feel it is something to do with a Windows update, then perhaps a System Restore to a time before the update in question might fix the problem. Do you know how long you have had the problem and what updates were applied when it began ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='767969' date='28-Mar-2009 11:02']You didn't answer my question. Remote troubleshooting is difficult enough, so please stay on topic.

    If you feel it is something to do with a Windows update, then perhaps a System Restore to a time before the update in question might fix the problem. Do you know how long you have had the problem and what updates were applied when it began ??[/quote]
    i think it ocurred right after KB967715 was downloaded however my system restore function has not worked for at least the last 7 months so that might be difficult to go back and restore to an earlier date

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    You often need to turn off your antivirus program temporarily in order to perform a system restore. It's worth a try, but don't forget to turn it on again afterwards.

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,517
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    [quote name='schonman' post='767996' date='28-Mar-2009 11:52'][/quote]

    Have you checked any of the registry settings mentioned in the Microsoft Knowledge Base article?

    By going to Control Panel | Add/remove Programs and making sure that "Show updates" is checked at the top, you should be able to uninstall KB967715. See the posts at Tag » Conficker « @ AskWoody.com for an extended discussion about the situation and hotifx.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •