Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    every few weeks when i have an automatic windows update i can no longer get internet access. my partner is still online from the same connection so it can only be an issue with my computer. i have checked security settings and they seem unchanged. i tried to removed the new updates esp as one is about windows media player and not a security update but it said if i removed it the 3 security updates which came at the same time won't work properly...
    any advice? i have windows XP.
    thanks.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Have you tried a System Restore back to before the updates in question ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='cosmicmouse' post='768115' date='29-Mar-2009 11:59'][/quote]

    What do you do to get internet access back? Do you get any error message? If you use an email client can you still receive e-mail?

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='768152' date='29-Mar-2009 17:08']Have you tried a System Restore back to before the updates in question ??[/quote]

    no i haven't. would that be similar to removing the updates? forgive my ignorance if it isn't but it's aim sounds the same.

    when i started to remove one update (on windows media player which i knew i didn't need), it said its removal would interfere with the security updates and so i felt wary of removing them. that's when i came on here for advice.

    also i assume if i do remove them, or restore back, won't microsoft simply automatically update me in future with the same updates?

    would you advise me to stop allowing updates as one of my friends has? i fear leaving my computer unprotected.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='cosmicmouse' post='769389' date='06-Apr-2009 14:21']would you advise me to stop allowing updates as one of my friends has? i fear leaving my computer unprotected.[/quote]



    You go to Control Panel>Security Center>Manage Automatic Updates and set it to "Notify you but don't download updates"
    That way you can selectively install just the updates you need and also do them one at a time, so that if there is a problem with an update, you will know just what one is causing it.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='cosmicmouse' post='769389' date='06-Apr-2009 14:21']no i haven't. would that be similar to removing the updates? forgive my ignorance if it isn't but it's aim sounds the same.

    when i started to remove one update (on windows media player which i knew i didn't need), it said its removal would interfere with the security updates and so i felt wary of removing them. that's when i came on here for advice.

    also i assume if i do remove them, or restore back, won't microsoft simply automatically update me in future with the same updates?

    would you advise me to stop allowing updates as one of my friends has? i fear leaving my computer unprotected.[/quote]
    Yes, System Restore would be the same as removing the updates. I suggested a System Restore as a way to get back to the time before any of the updates were installed and thus avoiding the issue of removing certain updates that might cause problems with others installed at the same time. But after re-reading your post it appears that the most recent updates may not be the only ones that have been causing problems.

    If this problem has been going on for more than one set of updates, and you cannot access the internet after each new set of or individual updates then it isn't just one update causing issues. As Bob (viking33) said, you could change the setting to be notified before downloading and installing and then selectively DL and install the updates. But Joe's question about how you get internet access after the problem starts would likely provide mor insight into the problem.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks all. it's happened maybe 4 times over a year. only recall one solution (as a friend sorts it for me) and that was when security settings had changed to high but that isnt the problem this time. good advice about notification of updates and i can see this allows you to identify the trouble causers but how does one choose what to install and what not? i tried to reply to joperez but it didnt work for some reason: no i can't get email either and there is no error message.


    [quote name='DocWatson' post='769397' date='06-Apr-2009 14:16']Yes, System Restore would be the same as removing the updates. I suggested a System Restore as a way to get back to the time before any of the updates were installed and thus avoiding the issue of removing certain updates that might cause problems with others installed at the same time. But after re-reading your post it appears that the most recent updates may not be the only ones that have been causing problems.

    If this problem has been going on for more than one set of updates, and you cannot access the internet after each new set of or individual updates then it isn't just one update causing issues. As Bob (viking33) said, you could change the setting to be notified before downloading and installing and then selectively DL and install the updates. But Joe's question about how you get internet access after the problem starts would likely provide mor insight into the problem.[/quote]

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='cosmicmouse' post='769400' date='06-Apr-2009 14:27'][/quote]

    Please tell us more about your setup.

    1.) Are you connected to a router? wired or wireless?
    2.) What software firewall are you running?
    3.) What A/V sfotware are you running?
    4.) Are you running other anti-malware software?
    5.) Have you added or changed any other hardware or software recently?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='cosmicmouse' post='769400' date='06-Apr-2009 15:27']good advice about notification of updates and i can see this allows you to identify the trouble causers but how does one choose what to install and what not?[/quote]

    Quote from your original post:
    "i started to remove one update (on windows media player which i knew i didn't need)"
    There seems to be one right there?

    You can read the details of an update by just opening the drop down on each hotfix, which will most times give you a good clue as to what it does and if it applies to your set up.
    For example, the hotfix could be for MS Silverlight and you haven't installed Silverlight.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='viking33' post='769420' date='06-Apr-2009 15:34'][/quote]

    Windows/Microsoft Update may offer an update which you do not consider necessary because you do not use the program being updated but I do not think it will offer you a fix for someting you do not have installed.

    A release may install Silverlight but you should not be offered a patch to Silverlight if it is not installed.

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='viking33' post='769420' date='06-Apr-2009 15:34']Quote from your original post:
    "i started to remove one update (on windows media player which i knew i didn't need)"
    There seems to be one right there?

    You can read the details of an update by just opening the drop down on each hotfix, which will most times give you a good clue as to what it does and if it applies to your set up.
    For example, the hotfix could be for MS Silverlight and you haven't installed Silverlight.[/quote]

    i agree - i didn't THINK i needed one update tho i do have media player - it isnt essential to me - but when i tried to remove it, i got a message saying if i removed it other updates wd not work properly! so how does a novice know what to do in these circumstances?!

    talking of which when i try and reply to Joe perez i get an error message here saying i shd fix that the number of opening and closing tags don't match and i have no idea how to do so! it'shappened twice - only with his postings. so hope you dont mind - here is my reply to him!

    Please tell us more about your setup.
    thanks Joe
    1.) Are you connected to a router? wired or wireless?
    my computer is wired to a netscape router and my partner's apple mac is connected by wireless to same. he has no probs.
    2.) What software firewall are you running?
    norton
    3.) What A/V sfotware are you running?
    norton
    4.) Are you running other anti-malware software?
    no
    5.) Have you added or changed any other hardware or software recently?
    no

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='cosmicmouse' post='769598' date='07-Apr-2009 15:17'][/quote]

    Have you checked the Norton firewall to make sure that Internet access did not get disallowed?

    Can you temporarily disable the firewall to see if that is the problem?

    You said that you do not get any error messages. What specifically happens when you start your browser?

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='cosmicmouse' post='769598' date='07-Apr-2009 16:17']talking of which when i try and reply to Joe perez i get an error message here saying i shd fix that the number of opening and closing tags don't match and i have no idea how to do so! it'shappened twice - only with his postings. so hope you dont mind - here is my reply to him![/quote]

    Go to this Post 763829 referring to this problem.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    dear Joe
    things have moved on!

    i had already tried temp disabling norton protection/firewall etc before asking woody and that had not helped.

    however when i tried it again on your advice, just in case, i noticed that i had had a norton virus definition update the day the internet connection stopped. i therefore phoned them thinking this might be the problem rather than the windows updates.

    they advised me to remove norton files from my computer to see if that resolved the problem. under the call centre's directions i removed most (but not all) norton files including going into safe mode to deregister them. unfortunately this did not sort the problem out.

    norton now say it must be my ISP but i can't see how if the other computer here works fine. also my ISP is notoriously unhelpful.

    to answer your question about what happens when i open my browser, it simply says "IE cannot display the webpage". i get a similar message with firefox. if i try windows diagnose connection problems i get a runtime error message: C:\WINDOWS\Network diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe abnormal program termination.

    any thoughts?

    thanks in advance.

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='cosmicmouse' post='769976' date='10-Apr-2009 08:42'][/quote]

    Have you checked in Device Manager to make sure that your Network Card has not been disabled?

    Have you checked in Network Connections to make sure the connection is not disabled?

    Have you tried replacing your ethernet cable?

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •