Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I use Vista HP and have the Vista Disc Defrag set to run once a month on a schedule.
    I have been assuming that it does as I ask. Today however, I clicked onto the Disc Defrag to find that it stated that it had run the schedule today ... but the whole run must have only taken seconds, given the time between switching my pc on and when I took a look at the Defrag window! So it did (does) not do as it says? I then ran the Defrag manually and it indeed took 'time' to complete as I would have expected.

    No faults are shown that I can find. Does anyone else have this 'problem' or know of a way to correct it for correct operation against a schedule?
    Ron
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    [quote name='RonH' post='769687' date='08-Apr-2009 07:36'][/quote]

    Disk defragmentation is probably working just fine. See these articles for more information about how the defrag process works with Vista.

    Features of the Windows Vista hard disk defragmentation utility
    The Storage Team at Microsoft - File Cabinet Blog : Donít judge a book by its cover Ė why Windows Vista Defrag is cool
    The Storage Team at Microsoft - File Cabinet Blog : Disk Defragmenter FAQ

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='joeperez' post='769755' date='08-Apr-2009 18:44'][/quote]

    Thanks Joe for info. I'm still not convinced that 'scheduled run' is occurring as it should though. I will keep a check on the reports to see if I can find out more. Where is the best place to 'look'?
    Ron
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    [quote name='RonH' post='769846' date='09-Apr-2009 04:16'][/quote]

    Start Computer Management by right clicking on "Computer" and selecting "Manage".

    Then look at the Task Scheduler entries for defrag - see picture.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='joeperez' post='769871' date='09-Apr-2009 15:46'][/quote]
    Thanks Joe. had a looksee and from what I can tell it only did the defrag when I forced it on manual. I will have a look at the settings for defrag 'conditions' once I have had a bit of a read about them.

    Ron
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    [quote name='RonH' post='770322' date='13-Apr-2009 11:40']had a looksee and from what I can tell it only did the defrag when I forced it on manual. I will have a look at the settings for defrag 'conditions' once I have had a bit of a read about them.[/quote]

    Do you have a scheduled defrag task listed?
    have you changed any of the task properties?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='joeperez' post='770324' date='13-Apr-2009 18:46'][/quote]

    Yes I do have it scheduled Joe and no (to the best of my knowledge) I have never changed any of the defrag task properties. Is there a simple 'restore defaults' facility for sheduled routines like defrag ... maybe 'something' screwed up?
    Ron

    This link is interesting
    http://www.pcworld.com/article/162955/turn...luggish_pc.html
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    [quote name='RonH' post='770329' date='13-Apr-2009 12:29']Is there a simple 'restore defaults' facility for sheduled routines like defrag ... maybe 'something' screwed up?[/quote]

    It do not know of any 'restore default' for a scheduled task. What shows in the History for defrag?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='joeperez' post='770341' date='13-Apr-2009 20:59'][/quote]

    Snip attached Joe. It does show as the last entry that Defrag did occur but I did a manual Defrag start so I think that this entry is due to that. Ron
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    [quote name='RonH' post='770413' date='14-Apr-2009 03:09']Joe. It does show as the last entry that Defrag did occur but I did a manual Defrag start so I think that this entry is due to that.[/quote]

    What do the details of the errors and warnings tell you?

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='joeperez' post='770439' date='14-Apr-2009 15:56'][/quote]

    Hei Joe,

    These are the two latest on the snip that I gave you last ... a bit confusing to me since the 'Warning' suggested that the task was already running?

    Error 08/04/2009 08:24:22 101 Task Start Failed Launch Failure
    Task Scheduler failed to start "\Microsoft\Windows\Defrag\ScheduledDefrag" task for user "NT AUTHORITY\System". Additional Data: Error Value: 2147750687.

    Warning 08/04/2009 08:24:22 322 Launch request ignored, instance already running Info 6c1bf0c3-e839-4587-8672-6313a1880103
    Task Scheduler did not launch task "\Microsoft\Windows\Defrag\ScheduledDefrag" because instance "{6c1bf0c3-e839-4587-8672-6313a1880103}" of the same task is already running.

    Perhaps I should wait until the schedule comes up again next month and check again?
    But maybe (based on the magazine comment) it might be best to action Defrag manually only!
    Thanks for your help and interest
    Ron
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    [quote name='RonH' post='770464' date='14-Apr-2009 10:46']Perhaps I should wait until the schedule comes up again next month and check again?[/quote]

    You should check the "Conditions" and "Settings" tabs. On the settings tab you tell the scheduler how long a job can run. Post screen shots if need to.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='RonH' post='770464' date='14-Apr-2009 11:46'][/quote]
    Ron,
    This is a stab in the dark, but do you log on to your machine with a UserID and NON BLANK password? This article suggests that scheduled tasks will not run with a blank password. The article refers to XP, but I'm sure the same holds true for Vista.

    A workaround has been posted here. It involves a small registry hack. I checked on my Vista system, and Vista does have that key.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='Rebel' post='770484' date='14-Apr-2009 18:51'][/quote]

    Interesting one, John.
    Since I am the only pc (on my 1 pc home net) I do not use a password. My pc has a 'name' and when I turn it on it all 'happens' without me having to enter passwords etc. I guess that I am working as the 'Administrator' though if any programme management stuff needs doing the pc always asks me if I wish to proceed. Maybe this is not the best way to operate from the security aspects but its the way it set itself up when I first switched it on ... except that I cancelled a password need.
    Should I re-establish a password??
    Ron
    ps Had a look at the Vista Help and I think it suggests that programmed tasks should work without 'special passwords'. However you can't change the settings or create new tasks without accepting Admin prompt.
    Also ... Help states: Windows requires at least one administrator account on a computer. If you have only one account on your computer, you can't change it to a standard account.
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I have found that the XP and Vista machines do in fact require a passworded account to be logged in for the scheduler to work.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •