Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Smile

    Some times, not always, when I click on webpage that has a link, the first time I click on it IE says it can't be found. I hit the go back arrow and try again and the requested link opens to the correct page. This is happening so often that I swear I'm about to give up with IE7.

    Can this be corrected, if so please tell me how?

    I have Firefox as a backup browser, but I can't get used to it (especially the latest version) so I stick with the old standby IE.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='Duchess843' post='769891' date='09-Apr-2009 14:13'][/quote]

    There were some reports of connections issues with IE7. Use IE8.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='Duchess843' post='769891' date='09-Apr-2009 12:13']Some times, not always, when I click on webpage that has a link, the first time I click on it IE says it can't be found. I hit the go back arrow and try again and the requested link opens to the correct page.[/quote]
    It could be that the DNS server supplied by your ISP is slow or flaky, and IE is giving up before the response comes. Since Windows caches even a late response, a second try would work quickly. If you are so inclined, you could try using an independent DNS server and see whether that helps. One that is open for public use is OpenDNS: https://www.opendns.com/start/.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='769933' date='09-Apr-2009 21:13']It could be that the DNS server supplied by your ISP is slow or flaky, and IE is giving up before the response comes. Since Windows caches even a late response, a second try would work quickly. If you are so inclined, you could try using an independent DNS server and see whether that helps. One that is open for public use is OpenDNS: https://www.opendns.com/start/.[/quote]

    I'm going to try Joe's suggestion and install IE8, working the a DNS server might be way above my capabilities.

    As a separate issue when I tried to reply to Joe, I got an error that said, "The number of opening and closing quote tags does not match. Please fix this issue to submit your post."

    What's that all about, what did I do wrong and how do I fix it?"
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    You didn't do anything wrong. There's a bug in the software: if you reply to a post with an empty quote box (such as that by Joe Perez), it omits one closing [/quote] tag, and that causes the error when you try to submit the reply. You can repair this by adding [/quote] in the correct place, or by removing the quote from the reply altogether.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Am I glad to know that I'm not the one in error. I thought I almost had this new format down pat and then that happened, I will remove the quote all together.

    Thanks for the git back (lol).
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •