Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I would like to put a button on the toolbar of Word2007, that will paste unformatted text.

    I have been able to do this in Word2000 by using a macro that was put onto a button. It worked well. But in Word2007, after making the button with the macro, and everything going well, when I click the new button, the result is text that is formatted as in the original document.

    Does anyone know how I can paste unformatted text with one click of a button?

    Thanks.

    Elaine

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='erl' post='770073' date='10-Apr-2009 20:49']But in Word2007, after making the button with the macro, and everything going well, when I click the new button, the result is text that is formatted as in the original document.[/quote]
    What is the code of your macro? I would expect this to work:

    Code:
    Selection.PasteSpecial DataType:=wdPasteText

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had recorded the menu by clicking buttons as I'm not familiar with code. So I edited the macro using your code and it worked perfectly.

    Thanks so much. It's so helpful to have this working properly.

    Elaine

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='erl' post='770123' date='11-Apr-2009 09:57']I had recorded the menu by clicking buttons as I'm not familiar with code.[/quote]
    Oh... if you used the little clipboard drop-down menu that appears in your document after you paste, perhaps the macro recorder can't follow what you do with that menu. Good to know!

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    San Bernardino, California, USA
    Posts
    734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    This is great but... how do you make a button in Word? Where does the button appear? On the ribbon?

    [quote name='erl' post='770073' date='10-Apr-2009 20:49']I would like to put a button on the toolbar of Word2007, that will paste unformatted text.

    I have been able to do this in Word2000 by using a macro that was put onto a button. It worked well. But in Word2007, after making the button with the macro, and everything going well, when I click the new button, the result is text that is formatted as in the original document.

    Does anyone know how I can paste unformatted text with one click of a button?

    Thanks.

    Elaine[/quote]

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    On the Quick Access Toolbar (by default next to the Office button)

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    San Bernardino, California, USA
    Posts
    734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Okay... but how do I actually create a button to be placed there? I can't find any option for adding buttons through customization... unless I am looking in the wrong places.

    [quote name='HansV' post='783865' date='09-Jul-2009 15:19']On the Quick Access Toolbar (by default next to the Office button)[/quote]

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Click the Office button.
    Select Word Options from the menu.
    Click Customize in the navigation pane on the left.
    Select Macros in the Choose Commands From dropdown.
    Select the PasteUnformatted macro (or whichever macro you want to add)
    Click Add>>.
    Click OK.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    San Bernardino, California, USA
    Posts
    734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, took me a while to figure out. In 2007 (maybe others), you have to have made the macro first then go through the customization. Otherwise, when you select macros... there is nothing from which to choose.

    [quote name='HansV' post='783876' date='09-Jul-2009 16:17']Click the Office button.
    Select Word Options from the menu.
    Click Customize in the navigation pane on the left.
    Select Macros in the Choose Commands From dropdown.
    Select the PasteUnformatted macro (or whichever macro you want to add)
    Click Add>>.
    Click OK.[/quote]

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    In that sense, it's not different from previous versions - you can't assign a macro that doesn't exist yet to a button...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •