Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    OREGON
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    In my regular/admin/sign-in (all one in the same) acct., I just have a gray background.

    When I go to my Guest acct.(no sign in), Amost all web pages have all kinds of colored backgrounds.

    I have gone over just about everything, and at wits end. I do not really claim myself to be putr smart and could use some help please.

    It's always something!!!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Welcome to the Lounge!

    Do you use Internet Explorer?

    If so, go to Tools | Internet Options...
    In the General tab, click Accessibility.
    Make sure that the check boxes in the Accessibility dialog are cleared, in particular the one labeled "Ignore colors specified on web pages".
    Click OK (twice).

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='FR8SKR' post='770077' date='11-Apr-2009 02:45']... all web pages have all kinds of colored backgrounds ...[/quote]
    And if you use Firefox as your browser, the selection can be found under Tools, Options:

    [attachment=83289:2009_04_11_044652.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    OREGON
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Arrow

    Thank you both Hans and BigAl, but that is not it, besides would that not control both accts(guest and main)???
    It has to be something different between the two of them.
    I use both IE and Firefox, and I use Avast anti-virus. About a year ago I got a virus and Avast locked it in a chest. Then it got deleted. That is when I noticed no cursor choices, it was not till I opened the Guest acct., so my nieghbor could do a job app. that I noticed the background colors.

    It's always something!!!

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Those settings apply to the current user only, so your main account and the Guest account can have different settings.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    OREGON
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='770274' date='13-Apr-2009 06:53']Those settings apply to the current user only, so your main account and the Guest account can have different settings.[/quote]

    Again I Thank you HansV, but the color in the accessibilty tab is not it, as they are blank.

    It's always something!!!

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='FR8SKR' post='770298' date='13-Apr-2009 10:26']Again I Thank you HansV, but the color in the accessibilty tab is not it, as they are blank.[/quote]

    In IE under Internet Options | General | Appearance | Color what are the settings?

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    OREGON
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='770301' date='13-Apr-2009 08:31']In IE under Internet Options | General | Appearance | Color what are the settings?

    Joe[/quote]

    Use hover,
    Black,Grey,purple,blue,red

    It's always something!!!

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='FR8SKR' post='770305' date='13-Apr-2009 10:44']Use hover,
    Black,Grey,purple,blue,red[/quote]

    Even though IE help says that the Color settings are only for web pages that do no specify colors you could try checking the "Use Windows Colors" box, OK your way out, and restarting IE to see if it changes the behavior.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='FR8SKR' post='770305' date='13-Apr-2009 10:44']Use hover,
    Black,Grey,purple,blue,red[/quote]

    You could also reset IE to its default settings. Be sure to read IEBlog : Reset Internet Explorer Settings for an explanation of what gets reset.


    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    OREGON
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='770312' date='13-Apr-2009 09:11']You could also reset IE to its default settings. Be sure to read IEBlog : Reset Internet Explorer Settings for an explanation of what gets reset.


    Joe[/quote]

    I can not get the IE blog to open, says server down.

    It's always something!!!

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='FR8SKR' post='770347' date='13-Apr-2009 14:19']I can not get the IE blog to open, says server down.[/quote]

    I was just able to access it. Be persistent - the response time is terrible so the browser may have just timed out.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    I can't get to that site either. Here's another source of information from Microsoft: How to reset Internet Explorer settings

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    OREGON
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='770352' date='13-Apr-2009 12:25']I can't get to that site either. Here's another source of information from Microsoft: How to reset Internet Explorer settings[/quote]

    I have reset IE, and still no colors.

    It's always something!!!

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    I'm jumping in rather late on this one, but is it possible that account has some corruption in it's settings ??

    If so, could another Administrator account be created and then transfer all data and personal settings to the new account and then delete the original ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •