Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Guided Help

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up

    Used Guided Help to perform error checking in Windows XP (KB315265). Downloaded and installed Guided Help, file name: 315265.exe). Program started, My Computer appeared and I was asked to click on the drive I wanted checked. Clicking on anything in My Computer was unavailable and Next and Stop button wouldn't work. I finally had to do a ctrl+alt+delete and log off.

    Has anyone used this feature successfully? Why did everything lock up?
    I did shut down my firewall before I started.

    Gloria

    Edited by Bigaldoc to add a link: How to perform disk error checking in Windows XP (hint, hint, wink, wink )
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,616
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 625 Times in 558 Posts
    [quote name='Duchess843' post='770306' date='13-Apr-2009 10:46']Has anyone used this feature successfully?[/quote]

    I just used it without a problem.

    1.) Did you follow the steps exactly?
    a.) Run on this computer?
    b.) Show me step-by-step?
    c.) Click "Start"?
    d.) Click "My Computer"?
    e.) Click the drive you want to check?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't remember seeing the steps I should use. Where did you see them?
    Thanks for that, I'll try it again.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='770318' date='13-Apr-2009 12:26']I just used it without a problem.[/quote]

    Hey Joe, there's something strange here. I just tried it twice and got the same message that I've clicked something that's not a hard drive. I wasn't about to experiment on my C: drive, so the two tries I made were partitions on my second drive, where Vista, Win 7 and my MS VPC live.

    [attachment=83331:2009_04_15_035136.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='770573' date='15-Apr-2009 08:54']I just tried it twice and got the same message that I've clicked something that's not a hard drive.[/quote]
    Al,

    I don't know the feature you are discussing, but you seem to have selected a partition, not a hard drive. The drives are on the left of your image.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='StuartR' post='770577' date='15-Apr-2009 04:37']... you seem to have selected a partition, not a hard drive.[/quote]

    Thanks, Stuart. I made a third try and when I get to the point where Joe seems to be seeing "My Computer" this is what I see:

    [attachment=83333:2009_04_15_035718.png]

    So, the only things I CAN select are partitions, not PHYSICAL drives. Besides which, I wouldn't think CHKDSK can check a "whole" physical disk which might have several partitions. Anyway, here's the message I get:

    [attachment=83332:2009_04_15_035829.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,616
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 625 Times in 558 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='770580' date='15-Apr-2009 03:54']Thanks, Stuart. I made a third try and when I get to the point where Joe seems to be seeing "My Computer"[/quote]

    Can you access the partitions using Windows Explorer? Note from the kb article:

    <H4 id=tocHeadRef>Requirements to install and to use this Guided Help</H4> loadTOCNode(3, 'moreinformation');
    • You must be logged on to Windows by using a computer administrator account to install and to use this Guided Help.
    • You must be running Windows XP Home Edition, Windows XP Professional, Windows XP Media Center Edition, or Windows XP Tablet PC Edition to install and to use this Guided Help.
    Did you meet the requirements?

    Joe

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='770618' date='15-Apr-2009 10:22']Can you access the partitions using Windows Explorer? Did you meet the requirements?[/quote]
    Oh yeah, all my drives (partitions) are visible, in use every day and can be seen from Windows Explorer and everything else. And yes, I'm running XP MCE as an administrator, so I think it must be some obscure Windows setting that's stopping me dead.

    Would you mind a screenshot of what YOU see when you get to the select a drive windows, please Joe? I've been scrounging around in as many view and tools spots as I can and can't figure it out (so far).

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,616
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 625 Times in 558 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='770620' date='15-Apr-2009 09:27']Would you mind a screenshot of what YOU see when you get to the select a drive windows, please Joe? I've been scrounging around in as many view and tools spots as I can and can't figure it out (so far).[/quote]

    NOTE: I meant can you see and access the contents not just "see" the drive.

    The only thing I can think of is that the NTFS version for Vista & Win7 is different than that for XP and the tool does not recognize the it because of that difference.

    Joe

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='770621' date='15-Apr-2009 10:39']NOTE: I meant can you see and access the contents not just "see" the drive.

    The only thing I can think of is that the NTFS version for Vista & Win7 is different than that for XP ...[/quote]
    Sure, I access all my partitions every day. OK, I'll boot up my Vista and see if I get the same as you. Thanks.

    Gloria, hang in there...

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,616
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 625 Times in 558 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='770623' date='15-Apr-2009 09:45']Sure, I access all my partitions every day. OK, I'll boot up my Vista and see if I get the same as you.[/quote]

    The tool is supposed to be run only on XP. I can't get it to run under Vista.

    Joe

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cool

    [quote name='joeperez' post='770318' date='13-Apr-2009 12:26']I just used it without a problem.

    1.) Did you follow the steps exactly?
    a.) Run on this computer?
    b.) Show me step-by-step?
    c.) Click "Start"?
    d.) Click "My Computer"?
    e.) Click the drive you want to check?

    Joe[/quote]

    That was a stupid question to ask, the instructions were right there on the download page, I seem to be forgetting things more often. Please ignore my question.

    I didn't use the step-by-step option, I chose the Do it for me. I'll forget about using Guided Help. I did it manually and it ran and every things alright now.

    Thanks for your help, this topic is solved and closed.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,616
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 625 Times in 558 Posts
    [quote name='Duchess843' post='770664' date='15-Apr-2009 12:48']I didn't use the step-by-step option, I chose the Do it for me. I'll forget about using Guided Help. I did it manually and it ran and every things alright now.[/quote]

    You're welcome. Glad you got it going manually.

    Joe

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='770626' date='15-Apr-2009 10:53']The tool is supposed to be run only on XP. I can't get it to run under Vista.[/quote]
    I guess I was corn-fused by your statement about the possible difference in NTFS between OS versions, so I thought maybe you were running it in Vista. I can confirm your statement now that it doesn't run under Vista.

    Back to XP MCE, I don't get any windows like you pulled in your screenshots, but if Gloria is now happy, I'm gonna quit and chalk this up as another MS fluke. I've tried as many things as I can think of to get it to run and all fails me.

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,616
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 625 Times in 558 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='770684' date='15-Apr-2009 14:09']I guess I was corn-fused by your statement about the possible difference in NTFS between OS versions, so I thought maybe you were running it in Vista. I can confirm your statement now that it doesn't run under Vista.

    Back to XP MCE, I don't get any windows like you pulled in your screenshots, but if Gloria is now happy, I'm gonna quit and chalk this up as another MS fluke. I've tried as many things as I can think of to get it to run and all fails me.[/quote]

    I get those after I select the disk D: (which is a partition). I was just thinking that maybe the tool was having difficulties recognizing the partitions if they were formatted with the OS in loaded on them. I cuold be all wet and it is another problem.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •