Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Back in 2007 I started using Firefox - not for everyday browsing, but for one specific browser game I became addicted to - it was coded for FF and ran a lot faster than with IE.
    I really liked the tabbed aspect of FF, so I started to use it more and more. But all my bookmarks were with IE6, and I didn't like (still don't) the bookmarking feature of FF, so I still used IE6 as well. (I've always been stubborn with software I like - the IE6 layout is still 100 times better than the IE7 layout.)
    Well, at one point I noticed that if Firefox was running, if I opened an IE window then FF would slow down, and after a while so would the entire PC - and eventually I'd need to reboot. This kept happening, and it would take less and less time for the slowdown to occur - until eventually as soon as I opened an IE window - or usually clicking a link would open IE instead of FF - the PC would virtually lock up.
    So I bit the bullet and installed IE7. I'd used it at work, and I knew it was supposed to be better and faster, but I absolutely loathe the layout - I had gotten so used to the sensible layout of IE6 that I had to search for the right button or menu item every time I needed it. But I upgraded because I figured it would solve the problem.
    But it didn't - it once again took less time to reach the point where I needed to reboot, but once again that time is coming sooner and sooner.

    Theoretically, FF and IE can coexist peacefully - right? I have scanned repeatedly with every reputable scanner available to try and find a virus or malware or anything that might be causing this slowdown. I've defragged and optimized, and nothing seems to have any lasting effect. To date I have tried:

    Ad-Aware
    Spybot S&D
    MBAM
    CCleaner
    Perfect Disk
    RegCure
    Spy Sweeper

    I use avast! for AV and Zone Alarm for my firewall.
    (OS is Windows XP Pro SP3 - up to date with patches, except for yesterday's)

    I've searched for the latest drivers to my printer, scanner, video card, sound card, motherboard, network card - you name it.

    In the past, as soon as something like this has happened - typically every 2 years - I upgrade my system; I buy a new HD, switch the old one to Slave mode, reinstall Windows, and after a day of updates and patches, my system is running smoothly again. But it's been only a year since I last did that - I've continually kept my system as streamlined as possible, and more than half of my C drive is free (176 of 298gb free) - needless to say, I am at a loss as to why IE appears to be slamming on the brakes as soon as I open it up.
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='djmoore' post='770608' date='15-Apr-2009 08:28']But it's been only a year since I last did that - I've continually kept my system as streamlined as possible, and more than half of my C drive is free (176 of 298gb free) - needless to say, I am at a loss as to why IE appears to be slamming on the brakes as soon as I open it up.[/quote]

    IE7 has some quirks when it initially loads. "Connecting" to your home page sometimes seems to take forever. It is multiplied if you have it open more than one tab on load.

    I recommend you install IE8. It loads faster, renders faster, is more secure, and more stable than IE7. If you don't like it uninstalling IE8 will revert automatically to IE7.

    NOTE: Soon Microsoft will distribute IE8 through the Windows/Microsoft update site.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Do you have enough RAM? Browsers work best when they can keep frequently used assets in memory.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for the quick response, Joe - I'm not sure if that is the main cause of my problem, though.
    When I open IE, it slows everything down. And not just at first - initially it can behave normally - giving decent speeds. But very soon, within minutes in fact - not only IE, but Firefox as well, will grow progressively slower until I am quite literally dealing with an AMD dual-core processor that is giving me the performance of a pre-pentium 386SX. It brings back memories of waiting and watching as interlaced images were oh so slowly generated on my CRT. And no, I'm not exaggerating. It becomes that slow - which is when I opt for a reboot.
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='djmoore' post='770673' date='15-Apr-2009 13:23']Thanks for the quick response, Joe - I'm not sure if that is the main cause of my problem, though.
    When I open IE, it slows everything down.[/quote]

    Have you looked at Task Manager before the re-boot? It should give you an idea of what is going on.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    (I have 1gb of RAM)

    I just had to reboot, so I made screen caps of my Task Manager (processes) display.

    I have tried in the past to look up many of these programs/processes, and never found anything out about them, other than that they are always needed by some legit program or other every time I do check.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='djmoore' post='770958' date='16-Apr-2009 18:55']I just had to reboot, so I made screen caps of my Task Manager (processes) display.[/quote]

    IE does not appear to be running. Firefox is using 200MB of memory. That could be a sign of a memory leak.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='djmoore' post='770958' date='16-Apr-2009 16:55'](I have 1gb of RAM)[/quote]
    Doubling from 1GB to 2GB can give very dramatic results. It eliminated so many inexplicable errors on my WinXP Pro system, you would not believe.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='770960' date='16-Apr-2009 17:15']IE does not appear to be running. Firefox is using 200MB of memory. That could be a sign of a memory leak.[/quote]
    Firefox uses as much memory as Windows and other programs allow it to use. More of a design philosophy than a leak.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='770613' date='15-Apr-2009 10:06']IE7 has some quirks when it initially loads. "Connecting" to your home page sometimes seems to take forever. It is multiplied if you have it open more than one tab on load.

    I recommend you install IE8. It loads faster, renders faster, is more secure, and more stable than IE7. If you don't like it uninstalling IE8 will revert automatically to IE7.

    NOTE: Soon Microsoft will distribute IE8 through the Windows/Microsoft update site.

    Joe[/quote]

    Joe,

    I just came across this bit of info on the SPybot S&D home page reguarding IE8 and Spybot. Seems there are reports of the two not working and playing well together. Slows down IE8 when Spybot is loaded.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='770965' date='16-Apr-2009 20:06']Firefox uses as much memory as Windows and other programs allow it to use. More of a design philosophy than a leak.[/quote]

    Uses it for what? If all you are doing is browsing with one tab 200 MB seems a bit excessive? You can search all over and find many threads about FF and its memory management issues.

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    The problem is with the Immunization feature of Spybot S&D. If you turn this off, IE8 starts many times faster. One can still use Spybot S&D to run a scan.

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='771043' date='17-Apr-2009 12:16']The problem is with the Immunization feature of Spybot S&D. If you turn this off, IE8 starts many times faster. One can still use Spybot S&D to run a scan.[/quote]

    Sorry.... I should have posted more complete information. Too much going on I guess.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Well, I do normally have about 12 tabs going with Firefox every day. I guess that may account for 200mb, or at least most of it.

    But I experience no performance issues until IE is fired up. And it keeps degrading even after IE is closed (the screen caps I made were after IE had been running and then closed) - so IE didn't apparently leave any traces upon exit.

    I can see a performance slowdown if my wife logs in under her account, but even if I log her out, things don't speed up again at all. For some reason, though, ever since I started using XP Pro, her account is constantly beset with minor issues - Outlook refuses to shut down when she closes the app, and sometimes I can get a long string of popup windows requiring manual intervention in order to shut down Outlook.exe. Recently, too, when she opens IE and goes to Google Maps, she gets a popup window asking her to configure FrontPage in order to properly render the webpage. This is brand new, and Frontpage was NOT listed as the HTML editor; in fact after I changed it to MS Word, the same window ept popping up. I know it would probably help to do a clean installation of Windows and start from scratch, but I can't do that right now. I've been unemployed since January 1st (the second time since 2007) and my son is going to college in the fall, so any major projects requiring time or money and not related to getting a job have to go on the back burner.

    I guess I should be investigating Firefox memory issues - although from the comments above, I would imagine that it is a known issue but one without a resolution?


    I'll mention this here, because I have to wonder if it is related to this issue - although if it is indeed a problem it belongs somewhere else - but I don't think it is a problem, per se. Recently I received 2 random emails (several days apart) in the form of delivery failure notifications - for emails I never sent myself. The subject lines referred to in these notifications indicated that the emails were meant to advertise adult content - in layman's terms, someone was using my email address to send out porn spam. I worried at first that my performance issues may be indicating that my PC is being used as a bot, but I have consistently kept on top of Windows updates (when Woody says it's ok, of course), anti-spyware and AV updates and intermittent scans; so my suspicion is that someone merely used my email address as a remote response address, and it was not actually sent form my PC. If it had been sent from here, I'm pretty sure I would be receiving more than just 1 or 2 kickbacks over the course of a month.
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='djmoore' post='771064' date='17-Apr-2009 12:15']But I experience no performance issues until IE is fired up.[/quote]

    1.) These days IE7 & IE8 performance issues are often due to add-ins. That can be such things as Flash, ActiveX, etc.
    2.) Often Outlook problems when shutting down Outlook are add-in related too. Often Outlook will hang waiting to "hear" from an add-in. See When Microsoft Outlook does not shut down properly for some hints.
    3.) I'd not worry about the NDRs. It could also be from someone who has your e-mail address and has had their address book harvested.

    BTW, the last two items probably should've been new threads. They may get "lost in the shuffle". In another thread some other Lounger who does not visit this forum may also benefit if they were in the Outlook forum.

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •