Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    For about a week now, each time I start up my PC I have to repair my Local Area Connection to enable an Internet connection.

    To try and diagnose the problem, I ran ipconfig after starting up, but it all seems correct.

    In an attempt to fix the problem, in Device Manager | Network adapter, I turned off 'Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power' but it has not helped and I have also edited the registry HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\LanmanServe r\ and set Autodisconnect to (0xffffffff) minutes, but that has not fixed the problem either.

    I would be grateful for any other suggestions to fix this recent problem.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='useful' post='770731' date='15-Apr-2009 20:04']For about a week now, each time I start up my PC I have to repair my Local Area Connection to enable an Internet connection.[/quote]

    1.) What operating system?
    2.) What service pack level?
    3.) Is the PC up-to-date with patches?
    4.) Did you change any hardware or software about the time this started?
    5.) Wired or wireless connection?


    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='770737' date='16-Apr-2009 03:16']1.) What operating system?
    2.) What service pack level?
    3.) Is the PC up-to-date with patches?
    4.) Did you change any hardware or software about the time this started?
    5.) Wired or wireless connection?


    Joe[/quote]
    Thank you Joe for the quick response.

    1.) The operating system is Windows XP Pro
    2.) Service Pack 2
    3.) All patches (except SP3) have been installed and the PC is up-to-date
    4.) No hardware or software has been installed, except for the Windows Updates
    5.) Wired connection

    I hope this gives you a clue.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='useful' post='770760' date='16-Apr-2009 03:37']I hope this gives you a clue.[/quote]

    When you start the PC is it really powered off or is it in a sleep or hibernate mode?

    Are you sure that you wait long enough when the PC starts so all the networking and firewall software is initialized?

    Have you tried replacing the Ethernet cable?

    Is this a braodband connection?

    Is there a router involved?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='770791' date='16-Apr-2009 13:27']When you start the PC is it really powered off or is it in a sleep or hibernate mode?

    Are you sure that you wait long enough when the PC starts so all the networking and firewall software is initialized?

    Have you tried replacing the Ethernet cable?

    Is this a braodband connection?

    Is there a router involved?

    Joe[/quote]
    The PC has been really powered off, not hibernating and I wait several minutes before attempting to connect to the Internet. I have not tried replacing the Ethernet cable, because repairing the Local Area Connection always works first time, it's just a nuisance to have to do it every day. It is a broadband connection and I am connecting to a router, but the other PCs on the network are fine. It's just mine that has developed this problem.

    Unless you have a better suggestion, I will try and replace the network cable and see if that helps.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='useful' post='770794' date='16-Apr-2009 08:37']Unless you have a better suggestion, I will try and replace the network cable and see if that helps.[/quote]

    Replacing the cable won't hurt but probably won't fix it since the repair works on the first attempt. I just want to find out what all you've tried.

    Do you have the most current drivers for your NIC?

    Does the router assign IP addresses?

    When you do ipconfig do you have an IP address assigned?

    Have you tried swapping ports on the router with a different machine?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Replacing the network cable did not help, so I did some more investigation, re-configured the DNS settings and it all worked fine!

    Thank you for your help.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='useful' post='771246' date='19-Apr-2009 08:22']Replacing the network cable did not help, so I did some more investigation, re-configured the DNS settings and it all worked fine!

    Thank you for your help.[/quote]

    You're welcome. Glad you got it worked out. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •