New Lounger
    Thanks
    Hi there,

I'm new to hyperlinks and am trying to make some in a Word document (2003). I'm doing what the online help section says and I do get a blue underlined piece of text alright - but I can't open it by left clicking on it.

If I right click I get a dropdown menu associated with hyperlinks (edit hyperlink, select hyperlink, open hyperlink, copy hyperlink and remove hyperlink, etc). If I click on "open hyperlink" on this menu the link works and the webpage concerned opens - indicating at least that much is working.

How do I get it so that I can just left click on the hyperlink directly though?

Thanks

Ian

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks
    [quote name='iano' post='770834' date='16-Apr-2009 15:59']How do I get it so that I can just left click on the hyperlink directly though?[/quote]
    Welcome to the lounge.

You can use Control-Click to follow a hyperlink in Word, but I don't know of a way to just use a left click.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    [quote name='StuartR' post='770835' date='16-Apr-2009 11:01']Welcome to the lounge.[/quote]

Cheers Stuart.

You can use Control-Click to follow a hyperlink in Word, but I don't know of a way to just use a left click.

Aha! I'll remove the pistol from my temple in that case.

I see what you mean with the ctrl key. The thing now is that I need to utilise the screentip to inform my reader of this fact. But although I've filled in relevant instructions in the screentip field, the tip doesn't appear when I hover over the hyperlink. The cursor just looks the same as if the hyperlink isn't there

Any ideas on this one?

Thanks

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks
    [quote name='iano' post='770841' date='16-Apr-2009 16:19']...although I've filled in relevant instructions in the screentip field, the tip doesn't appear when I hover over the hyperlink.[/quote]
    If you leave the screentip blank then word displays this very helpful tip.

[attachment=83354:Click_to...yperlink.GIF]