3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Hello, all.

Am tearing my hair out with this problem. In Word 2007, I can't seem to save a style to the NORMAL template that sets up a simple single-level list, Arabic numerals, with a first-line indent of .5" and text indent of 0 (zero) -- so that the text wraps to the left margin. I can create a style and tell it to save in "New documents based on this template" (or whatever the exact wording is; don't have Word 2007 available at this job site), but the minute I start a blank document and apply the style, the indents revert to something unusable (I think the first-line indent changes to .75" and the text wrap changes to .25", but can't recall at the moment -- and it might not be consistent).

It doesn't seem to matter whether I base the new numbering style on the List Paragraph style, a List Number style, the Normal Style, or no style at all. I can get it set up correctly, and I know how to save it to the template (I'm a software trainer and I've been using and teaching Word since version 6), but the style simply doesn't persist.

I've tried it on more than one computer (both laptops), without success. Well, that's not entirely true: On one of the computers, I was able to create a style some months ago that had all the right settings and that appears to persist from document to document. I've looked at the settings, and can't figure out how it differs from the other styles I set up where the indents do not persist. (It's based on the List Paragraph style, oddly enough; other styles I base on the List Paragraph style don't persist regardless of what I do, and I've read loads of web exchanges in which MVPs and others advise not to use the List Paragraph style because it is quirky and unreliable.)

Any bright ideas would be most appreciated. I've run out.

Thanks in advance,
    Jan
    Author, Formatting Legal Documents With Microsoft Word 2016,
    Formatting Legal Documents With Microsoft Word 2010​,