Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Time to replace my computer. I'm confused over 644bit Vista--and about 64-bit XP. Can both the 64-bit OS versions handle all 32-bit applications? I understand 64 will not handle 16 bit applications. Is this correct?

    Bruce

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='Bruce_Evans' post='771172' date='18-Apr-2009 09:25']Time to replace my computer. I'm confused over 644bit Vista--and about 64-bit XP. Can both the 64-bit OS versions handle all 32-bit applications? I understand 64 will not handle 16 bit applications. Is this correct?[/quote]

    It is correct that you can NOT run 16-bit applications in a 64bit Windows OS. I'd avoid 64-bit XP. It has never been very popular. As a result device driver support is spotty.

    Most 32-bit applications will run fine on 64-bit Vista (as long as the vendor says they will run on Vista).

    The biggest advantage that 64-bit Vista has is being able to address much more RAM than 32-bit Vista. This is not a big deal for most people. It depends on your PC usage.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' date='18-Apr-2009 18:16' post='771211']
    It is correct that you can NOT run 16-bit applications in a 64bit Windows OS. I'd avoid 64-bit XP. It has never been very popular. As a result device driver support is spotty.

    Most 32-bit applications will run fine on 64-bit Vista (as long as the vendor says they will run on Vista).

    The biggest advantage that 64-bit Vista has is being able to address much more RAM than 32-bit Vista. This is not a big deal for most people. It depends on your PC usage.

    Joe

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    32 bit drivers may also not work on 64 bit Vista. I purchased a "Dazzel" unit to convert VHS to DVD through the computer but had to return it because in the minimum requirements it stated VISTA (32 bit only). I am also having problems with the computer recognizing my Cannon digital camera (new). Am lso having problems downloading pictures to my digital photo album frames.
    Any suggestions

    Mel

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    [quote name='MelR' post='773482' date='03-May-2009 04:30']Any suggestions[/quote]
    Unless you need to access more than 4MBytes of RAM I think you should just downgrade to 32 bit Vista.

    I really don't know why people use the 64 bit version, it causes lots of compatibility problems with hardware and software and provides almost no benefit to most people.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='MelR' post='773482' date='02-May-2009 23:30']I am also having problems with the computer recognizing my Cannon digital camera (new). Am lso having problems downloading pictures to my digital photo album frames.[/quote]

    Does Vista recognize the camera so you can see it when you open Windows Explorer and select "Computer"? I gave up on using Canon's software with Vista Home Premium 64 bit and now just drag my pics from the camera directly to the appropriate folders.

    -Jester
    I know enough to know I don't know enough

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='dgpile' post='774472' date='09-May-2009 17:41']... and now just drag my pics from the camera directly to the appropriate folders.[/quote]
    It sounds like you do what I do. I don't connect my camera to the computer. I take the memory card out of the camera and insert it into my USB connected card reader to transfer the pictures to the hard drive using Windows Explorer drag-n-drop.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I have NOT found any "Camera" software that I like. I prefer the Windows Explorer method. But with my Nikon Coolpix P80 and my XP machine, I have to run the stupid Nikon crap.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    I run the Canon Zoombrowser software (included with the camera) to downlaod pictures from the camera via USB cable interface and then manipulate the images with Photoshop. There are other programs in the Canon package, but I do not use them and just leave them installed (never gave them much thought).
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='DaveA' post='774492' date='09-May-2009 20:14']... I prefer the Windows Explorer method. But with my Nikon Coolpix P80 and my XP machine, I have to run the stupid Nikon crap.[/quote]
    Don't you have a card reader in/on your XP machine(s), Dave? I think I remember that the Coolpix has removable card memory.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='774528' date='10-May-2009 03:38']Don't you have a card reader in/on your XP machine(s), Dave? I think I remember that the Coolpix has removable card memory.[/quote]Al,
    No, as my Sony's are older and then each new camera has worked by using the USB cable, except for the Nikon.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Bruce and everybody! I realize I am a little late on this thread, but I'll go ahead anyway. Two months ago I purchased a new Acer Aspire 5516 laptop with Vista Home Basic for $279.99. It has 3 GB ram, an Athlon 64 single core processor, an ATI X1200 graphics chip and 160 GB hard drive. Not liking the Vista Home Basic, I replaced it with a fresh install of XP Pro 64 Bit Edition simply because my son gave it to me and it was the only Windows OS I had available. I figured it would at least be an interesting test. I found that while 64 bit drivers are less numerous than 32 bit drivers, it is less of an obstacle now than it use to be. I found 64 bit drivers for all hardware, including our printer, and everything works flawlessly. All the standard 32 bit apps work just fine. However, certain utilities, such as software firewalls and antivirus/antispyware have to be 64 bit capable. There are a few commercial "pay for" 64 bit software firewalls available, but I went with the Comodo Free Editon, which is one of the very few free 64 bit firewalls. I also installed Avast Antivirus Free Edition, which is 32 and 64 bit compatible. To supplement Avast's active protection, I installed Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Free and SUPERAntispyware Free Edition (for manual scanning), both of which are 64 bit compatible.

    I've been using this laptop for two months now without any issues. It's pretty fast for a single core processor. If I had needed to purchase a new copy of XP Pro, I would have gone with the standard 32 bit version, but after this experience, if I could get the 64 bit at a bargain price, I would not hesitate to buy. I use MS Office 2000 Pro, MS Money 2005 Deluxe, Firefox, Thunderbird, CCleaner, DivX Movie Player, VLC Media Player, and watch DVD movies and Netflix streaming movies as well.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •