Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio - USA, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Turned my boss' computer on this morning and saw that it was doing its automatic update; and in fact, was installing SP3.

    When the computer re-booted, I got a blue screen and the following message:

    STOP: 0xc0000139 {Entry Point Not Found} The procedure entry point GdiGetBitmapBitsize could not be located in the dynamic link library GDI32.dll.

    Microsoft tells me:

    CAUSE This issue occurs if you install security update 948590 (security bulletin MS08-...This issue occurs if you install security update 948590 (security bulletin MS08-021) before you install Windows XP SP3 RC2 or RC1. You may experience this error because the version of the Gdi32.dll file that already exists on the computer is newer than the version of the Gdi32.dll file that is included in Windows XP SP3 RC1 or RC2. Additionally, the existing version of the Gdi32.dll file is incompatible with the version of the Gdi32.dll file in Windows XP SP3 RC1 or RC2.

    They then print this resolution:
    To resolve this issue, use the Windows XP CD or the startup disk to restart the computer. Then, use the Recovery Console to replace the incompatible version of the Gdi32.dll file. To run the Recovery Console, follow these steps:
    Insert the Windows XP startup disk in the floppy disk drive. Or, insert the Windows XP CD in the CD drive. Then, restart the computer.

    Note If you are prompted, click to select any options that are required to start the computer from the CD drive.
    When the "Welcome to Setup" screen appears, press R to start the Recovery Console.
    If you have a dual-boot computer or a multiple-boot computer, select the installation that you want to access from the Recovery Console.
    When you are prompted, type the administrator password.

    Note Press ENTER if the administrator password is blank.
    At the Recovery Console command prompt, type the following commands. Press ENTER after each command.
    ren %windir%\system32\gdi32.dll %windir%\system32\gdi32.dll.old
    copy %windir%\servicepackfiles\i386\gdi32.dll %windir%\system32\gdi32.dll
    Note These commands back up the current version of the Gdi32.dll file and replace the Gdi32.dll file by using the correct version.
    To exit the Recovery Console and to restart the computer, type exit at the Recovery Console command prompt, and then press ENTER.


    Well, the problem here is that when I put the Windows CD in the drive and press f2 to go to set up, NOWHERE do I see a prompt that will take me to a Recovery Console. I never even see a Welcome ot SEtup screen and I cannot get this thing to a point where I can download the file - or do anything for that matter. So, I am now stuck with a that shows this error message on a blue screen and won't let me do anything else.

    Has anyone had this happen, and can you suggest what I might do at this point?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='CharliesDaughter' post='771651' date='21-Apr-2009 20:27']Turned my boss' computer on this morning and saw that it was doing its automatic update; and in fact, was installing SP3.

    When the computer re-booted, I got a blue screen and the following message:

    STOP: 0xc0000139 {Entry Point Not Found} The procedure entry point GdiGetBitmapBitsize could not be located in the dynamic link library GDI32.dll.[/quote]

    Have you tried to boot into Safe Mode ???
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='CharliesDaughter' post='771651' date='21-Apr-2009 19:27']Well, the problem here is that when I put the Windows CD in the drive and press f2 to go to set up, NOWHERE do I see a prompt that will take me to a Recovery Console. I never even see a Welcome ot SEtup screen and I cannot get this thing to a point where I can download the file - or do anything for that matter. So, I am now stuck with a that shows this error message on a blue screen and won't let me do anything else.[/quote]

    Only press F2 if you need to change the boot order so that you boot from the Cd before the HD. You want to boot from the CD and let the Windows install process starts. You should be given the opportunity to start the Recovery Console.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio - USA, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I cannot boot in Safe Mode - it goes right to the blue screen.

    I tried to boot from the CD - it does not give me the opportunity to start the Recovery Console. Hopefully, I'm doing that correctly, but I don't think I was ever at the point where it was starting the install process. I placed the CD in the drive; turned off the computer. Then I turned the computer on with the CD in the drive. Am I doing this right? I never got the opportunity to start recovery console.






    [quote name='joeperez' post='771670' date='21-Apr-2009 23:05']Only press F2 if you need to change the boot order so that you boot from the Cd before the HD. You want to boot from the CD and let the Windows install process starts. You should be given the opportunity to start the Recovery Console.

    Joe[/quote]

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='CharliesDaughter' post='772165' date='24-Apr-2009 10:37']I cannot boot in Safe Mode - it goes right to the blue screen.

    I tried to boot from the CD - it does not give me the opportunity to start the Recovery Console. Hopefully, I'm doing that correctly, but I don't think I was ever at the point where it was starting the install process. I placed the CD in the drive; turned off the computer. Then I turned the computer on with the CD in the drive. Am I doing this right? I never got the opportunity to start recovery console.[/quote]

    What happened when you started the computer with cd in the drive? Did it boot normally? Did boot from the CD (which would start the windows install process)?

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio - USA, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, I found out was that the computer was not booting from the CD. Once I found that out, I was able to get into Recovery Mode. I went through the steps found on Microsoft's website and it never would work using the command prompt REN or ren. However, the steps one of you showed using COPY instead of REN did the trick for me. I was able to back up the file and install the new file and boot windows. The only thing I'm not sure about right now is that [I think] I need to again change the boot sequencce because at some point during this whole scenario I had to change it to boot from the CD and when I rebooted I got a message prompting me to press any key to boot from the CD. Will that happen every time I boot? If so, I have to change that back, right? Is there a way to change it from Windows or do I have to go back to command prompt?

    Microsoft wanted me to pay to fix what their automatic update screw up!

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='CharliesDaughter' post='772202' date='24-Apr-2009 15:00']Well, I found out was that the computer was not booting from the CD. Once I found that out, I was able to get into Recovery Mode. I went through the steps found on Microsoft's website and it never would work using the command prompt REN or ren. However, the steps one of you showed using COPY instead of REN did the trick for me. I was able to back up the file and install the new file and boot windows. The only thing I'm not sure about right now is that [I think] I need to again change the boot sequencce because at some point during this whole scenario I had to change it to boot from the CD and when I rebooted I got a message prompting me to press any key to boot from the CD. Will that happen every time I boot? If so, I have to change that back, right? Is there a way to change it from Windows or do I have to go back to command prompt?

    Microsoft wanted me to pay to fix what their automatic update screw up![/quote]

    If there is no CD in the drive when you boot you won't see any message.

    I'd recommend leaving the boot sequence alone now. That way if you need to you can boot from CD without having to change it again.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •